Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

suburbanwar

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 9, 2016
Netherlands
I currently own the original iPad mini and need to upgrade because it is not sufficient anymore. It works, but can become terribly slow, crash under light loads and has the screen retention problem when the brightness is turned up. I use the iPad mini as my main personal computer when I'm not at my desk. My Macbook Pro (2010, also getting old) is only used at home for backups and for downloading media. As a PhD student, i have a Dell laptop at my desk which I use with cross-platform apps like Evernote and Google docs. The general use case for the iPad is when I'm at home (50%) for work and entertainment, when I'm travelling (25%) and during lectures (25%). Even though i love the small size of the mini, reading/annotating articles and writing texts is sometimes a pain because of the small screen. That is why i'm looking to upgrade to possibly a larger screen size. I'm also intrigued by the ability of the Apple Pencil to make notes, draw schemes and annotate pdf's. But i'm afraid the iPad pro may be to big (and a bit to expensive) for my use case. The upcoming iPad Air 3 may be interesting if it gets pencil support. Key question to you; what are your experiences with the three sizes? Which one would you choose in my situation and why?

apple_iBoy

macrumors 6502a
Oct 28, 2003
Philadelphia, PA
I'd say being able to annotate PDF files of journal papers would be nice. I had a collection of thousands of PDFs on my computer but the really useful ones I always had to print so I could make notations on them. So that's one in favor of iPad Pro.

I'm a professor and have been using the Apple pencil to solve engineering problems in class. I can sit anywhere in the room and have my screen projected via the Apple TV we have hooked up in the room.