iPad losing wifi connection, forgetting pswd

Discussion in 'iPad' started by vini-vidi-vici, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    #1
    I do love this thing, but it seems every 30 minutes or so, I simply get dropped from my own wifi connection, and the iPad asks me for my password again.

    On a couple occasions, I could not join my wifi network again. The only fix was to power down and back up. Anyone else have this problem? I do not have this issue with my iPod touch.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    no problems with my home wi-fi or Verizon mifi and tethering with eris droid works fine surf on all three for 1hr each.
     
  3. macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #3
    I had this issue from the first boot, just had to restart it and it fixed the issue.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #4
    30 minutes? Mine is doing this every 10-15 minutes. I will try rebooting it though.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #5
    Does this keep happening even after you reboot?
     
  6. macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #6
    Rebooting should fix the issue
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #7
    I have rebooted 3 times, doesnt help. Meanwhile, my Macbook is running on the same wifi network just fine. Spent $500 for something I cant even use more than 5 minutes at a time. This POS is going back tomorrow.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #8
    I'll throw this out there.

    You may want to look at your router and make sure you have the latest firmware (or latest DD-WRT) on it.

    I had an issue like this - a device losing wifi (wasn't the iPad). Went round and round with the device for a while until I read about some access point incompatibilities. Updated the firmware on my router and haven't had a single problem since.

    As "universal" as they'd like you to think wifi is, there are often issues between Atheros and Broadcom chipsets that get cleared up in software (firmware) - or just general chipset issues.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #9

    Thanks but its not a router. Its one of those Sprint 3G/4G mobile hotspots and as I said, my Macbook stays connected to it just fine...
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #10
    I'm having the exact same problem!!
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #11
    Check for a firmware update to it anyway. The MacBook has an Atheros chipset and the iPad has a Broadcom chipset so there is maddeningly funky incompatibility potential. You either have a faulty iPad or something is up with your mobile hotspot.

    My MacBook Pro and iPad both have no disconnect issues here.

    Edit: here you go. Firmware update for sprint 3G/4g mobile hotspot
    http://www.nextel.com/en/software_downloads/mobile_broadband/sierra_overdrive.shtml

    You can go to http://www.sprint.com/downloads for a more generic link in case the link above isn't your mobile hotspot.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #12
    ok, there was an update available supposed to improve iphone and itouch. Downloaded it and testing now.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #13
    Sweet! I didn't even read the release notes. Not often you find a fix so specific to your problem. Hopefully this takes care of it.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #14
    Didnt work. Boots me off and says "incorrect password" while I am just surfing the net for a few minutes. Great job Apple, you can have this crap back.
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #15
    It's going to be something to do with the mobile hotspot, not the iPad. Wifi channel, wep/wpa/wpa2, something. Router config or router firmware update clears it up - and I've set up quite a few wireless networks. Had this problem too with a router bridging to another router. Frequent disconnects and would need to reenter the password. Firmware update fixed it.

    Try resetting your mobile hotspot to defaults (hard reset) in case there is a funky setting in there. I guarantee you this problem is not the iPads fault.

    Go find another wifi network to connect to and see if it holds a password. I'll bet it does. If you can get the iPad to work on another network, that points squarely at the mobile hotspot.

    Edit: looks like that 3G/4g hotspot is VERY new - maybe sprint doesn't have incentive to have an iPhone/iPod/iPad work correctly with their hotspot or they're still ironing out issues.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #16
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #17
    I'll check those links out later. I still think this will end up being a router issue.
    If you have broadcast ssid turned off, try turning it on.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #18

    What is ssid?
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #19
    Well dammit. I am down here at Starbucks and my iPad is working perfect on their wifi here. Appears to be an issue with my mobile hotspot. That sucks, I can't come to Starbucks every time I want to use it :(
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #20
    Ssid is your network name. If you can find your network on your mac or ipad then ssid is set to broadcast. If you have to type in your network name to connect then your ssid is hidden.
    I've seen issues even with my MacBook pro with a hidden ssid where I had to type in the network name. It would constantly lose connection. Set it to broadcast and it was fine.

    Now that you got starbucks working, we know it's a hotspot issue. I'd try resetting your hotspot and reconfiguring it after that firmware update. Then restart your ipad and try to reconnect.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    #21
    Thanks for the info everyone... I know my wifi is hidden, and will change to broadcast... We'll see if that helps. I hope apple will fix this with a minor os upgrade soon. Since it works fine on the iPod touch, it ought to work fine on the iPad.

    Fwiw, sometimes it's 5minutes for me, sometimes 1-2hours...
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    Unprocessed1

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #22
    Good, so now you can take your crappy attitude back.
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #23
    Ok. So I turned the security off on my router thus disabling the need for a password. It's working pretty well now. Dropped the signal once briefly but didn't knock me offline. Haven't had the incorrect password box pop up either.

    So if you are having similar issues to me, try disabling your security so you don't need a password. A bit risky but I will just be using mine at home anyways.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #24
    What kind of security were you using?

    WPA2 (AES) has worked well. If you were just using WPA, try WPA2. You might also try changing channels to see if that helps. Not good having no security
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #25
    Not sure. I just went in and disabled the password and it really doesnt matter since the range on this thing is only 25 feet. Someone would have to be inside my house to get access to it.
     

Share This Page