iPad Restore Question(s)

Discussion in 'iPad' started by kdesign7, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Location:
    earth, for now.
    #1
    Ok, so I plugged my iPad into the computer to begin the restoring process.

    It sync'd with iTunes fine. I selected the restore button, and then it began to restore. The iPad holds up on the Black screen with the Apple logo, and the progression bar. The bar is just past the Apple Logo, but goes no further.

    iTunes has a popup saying "Restoring iPad Software" and the progression bar is nearly 100%. I'd say it's 95%, and doesn't go any further.

    I've been able to force quiet iTunes, and the iPad comes back to the screen with the iTunes logo, and the USB chord, directing me to connect to iTunes to go any further. When I do this, iTunes tells me the iPad needs to be restored in order to go any further, then the cycle starts all over. The iPad begins to restore, hangs up during the progress... and doesn't go any further.

    I've tried the holding the home & power button, but that doesn't fix it either.

    The reason I restored was, after jailbreaking, I noticed my screen was out of calibration.

    Anyone have some solutions, or redirect me somewhere that has more info on this... that would be great!

    Thanks a bunch in advance!
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Jare

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Lemme guess you installed wifi sync? Remove the program that goes with it on your pc and restart.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Location:
    earth, for now.
    #3
    Wow

    your good... I didnt even mention wifi sync, but I do have it installed

    Alrite, let me try that.. and see how it works!
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Jare

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #4

    wifi sync causes a bug when you restore an idevice with it on your pc still. Remove it and restart the computer and all is well.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Location:
    earth, for now.
    #5
    Aaah! Your brilliant! That solution totally worked! I would have never of guessed that the culprit was WiFi Sync. I had only used it once or twice, just for the sake of wirelessly syncing, but maybe not so much now.

    I have my iPad in restore right now, backing up all my contacts, bookmarks, etc..etc..

    Thank you greatly for your help!
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #6
    hi how did you delete wifi sync if you could ony get as for as "connect to itunes" ?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Location:
    earth, for now.
    #7
    Oh man, i cant remember it was awhile ago. Would you like me to find out for you?
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #8
    please yes thank you =)
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Geoff.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #9
    He removed the wifi sync program from his pc, not the one on his device I'm presuming.

    Wifi sync requires it to be installed on the idevice and your pc
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Location:
    earth, for now.
    #10
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #11
    thanks
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #12
    Thanks from me as well

    I've registered on this forum just to thank Jare. I had this exact problem when installing yesterdays firmware update on my girlfriend's Ipad.

    While she was blissfully sleeping I was tearing my hair out trying to work out why the update was hanging right at the end. At 3am I gave up and prepared to give her the bad news in the morning.

    I stumbled upon this thread today and I did indeed have wifi sync installed on my MBP although I've never used it after the first few tries.

    Uninstalled that and update and restore went smoothly.

    Thanks for saving me a trip to the Genius Bar on the only day I have off for weeks!
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #13
    thanks guys everything went well. now i can sleep but without a jailbroken ipad =(.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #14
    Thank you MacRumors! This thread completely saved my bacon!
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #15
    Worked for me

    Thanks. Uninstalling WiFi Sync solved the problem. I was able to restore my iPad with no problem.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    #16
    Restoring iPad

    Wow. Thanks for this. Spent a couple of hours today trying and failing to restore my iPad. Was just about to book an appointment at ,y local Genius Bar then found this thread. Uninstalled WiFiSync ( which I'd totally forgotten about because it was from a previous jailbroken iPhone ) and then restore worked exactly as it should. Who would have thought a JB'd out of use App that never showed up in iTunes could have this impact?
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #17
    No uninstaller needed

    I didn't know there was an uninstaller, so I had to figure out where the files were. There was nothing for it in the Applications folder or System Preferences. So being the smart cookie I am, I opened up Activity Monitor, found the wifi sync process, and opened the inspector. There's a section that lists the files that it uses, and they all listed it under /Library/Application Support/Wi-fi Sync. So I deleted that folder and it was gone. Then my iPad restore worked perfectly! :cool:
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #18
    holy revival of a dead thread! glad it worked for you though.
     
  19. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #19
    It's been a known issue with WiFi Sync that the restore process hangs indefinitely. As for the screen calibration issue, I bet you have OpenSSH installed.

    Wait a minute!!!

    WHO PULLED THIS THREAD FROM THE RECYCLE BIN?!? XD
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #21
    U r da man! Looked everywhere, this worked like a charm :D. Bit careless that http://www.getwifisync.com/ doesn't warn it's users for this. :eek:
     

Share This Page