iPhone 3g can't get past activation screen running 4.2.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by fireblade28, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. fireblade28, Sep 10, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2011

    fireblade28
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #1
    Okay guys I was wondering if anyone could help me.

    I recently got given an iphone 3g which is from the USA and I want to unlock it for use here in the UK. I have unlocked and jailbroke two other iphones but this one is annoying me.

    The screen im given is the emergency call and 'No sim card installed, insert a valid sim'

    The phone was running 4.2.1 so I started off with redsnow 0.9.6b6 and updated the baseband to 6.15 from the ipad.

    However contrary to what other sites/people said this did not activate the phone and I can't get into cydia to run ultrasn0w on it.

    Except for purchasing an At&T sim activating it going into cydia and unlocking it that way (This is a bit long winded as I have to wait for a card to be shipped from the US) Does anyone have any idea how I can activate this phone and get into it to unlock it to be able to use it on UK networks?

    Thanks for anyones input
     
  2. Applejuiced
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    I'm surprised redsnow didn't hactivate it.
    Did you jb it and installed cydia using redsnow or you just installed the iPad bb. Seems like you might be missing a few steps.
     
  3. fireblade28
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #3
    I tried twice using 0.9.6b6. I had the cydia box ticked, the ipad box ticked, multitasking and show % for battery all ticked when I jailbroke it.
     
  4. fireblade28
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #5
    Maybe im misunderstanding but you have to get into the phone to use SAM in cydia. I can't even get to cydia if I could I would have unlocked it by now.

    I need to bypass the connect to itunes, insert a valid sim emergency call only.
     
  5. Applejuiced
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Try again but uncheck the ipad bb box.
     
  6. fireblade28
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #7
    Sadly I have tried that as well, it just comes up with the cable and itunes and asks me to restore it again, which I can no longer do as I have updated to 6.15 baseband.

    This is really annoying me now been trying for 3 days.
     
  7. apc
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #8
    I'm stuck with the same problem.. If you find a solution please let me know!
    I'll keep trying to find a solution myself, if I succeed I will post it here also.
     
  8. apc, Sep 21, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2011

    apc
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #9
    just been able to restore back to 4.2.1 with redsn0w_mac_0.9.6rc15 (I used redsn0w_mac_0.9.6b6 in the first run) without the check for ipad firmware...

    also been able to upgrade baseband to 06.15.00 (had to enter "YES" as answer for the question if I had a new iPhone 3GS.. although my weeknumber is 37).. after upgrade baseband is showing.. installed ultrasn0w and my Carrier is showing in the about-section... still can't make a phonecall though :(
    iphone keeps saying "no service"...

    I'll give it another shot this weekend...
     

Share This Page