iPhone 3g can't get past activation screen running 4.2.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by fireblade28, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. fireblade28, Sep 10, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #1
    Okay guys I was wondering if anyone could help me.

    I recently got given an iphone 3g which is from the USA and I want to unlock it for use here in the UK. I have unlocked and jailbroke two other iphones but this one is annoying me.

    The screen im given is the emergency call and 'No sim card installed, insert a valid sim'

    The phone was running 4.2.1 so I started off with redsnow 0.9.6b6 and updated the baseband to 6.15 from the ipad.

    However contrary to what other sites/people said this did not activate the phone and I can't get into cydia to run ultrasn0w on it.

    Except for purchasing an At&T sim activating it going into cydia and unlocking it that way (This is a bit long winded as I have to wait for a card to be shipped from the US) Does anyone have any idea how I can activate this phone and get into it to unlock it to be able to use it on UK networks?

    Thanks for anyones input
     
  2. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    I'm surprised redsnow didn't hactivate it.
    Did you jb it and installed cydia using redsnow or you just installed the iPad bb. Seems like you might be missing a few steps.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #3
    I tried twice using 0.9.6b6. I had the cydia box ticked, the ipad box ticked, multitasking and show % for battery all ticked when I jailbroke it.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #5
    Maybe im misunderstanding but you have to get into the phone to use SAM in cydia. I can't even get to cydia if I could I would have unlocked it by now.

    I need to bypass the connect to itunes, insert a valid sim emergency call only.
     
  6. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Try again but uncheck the ipad bb box.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #7
    Sadly I have tried that as well, it just comes up with the cable and itunes and asks me to restore it again, which I can no longer do as I have updated to 6.15 baseband.

    This is really annoying me now been trying for 3 days.
     
  8. apc
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #8
    I'm stuck with the same problem.. If you find a solution please let me know!
    I'll keep trying to find a solution myself, if I succeed I will post it here also.
     
  9. apc, Sep 21, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2011

    apc
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #9
    just been able to restore back to 4.2.1 with redsn0w_mac_0.9.6rc15 (I used redsn0w_mac_0.9.6b6 in the first run) without the check for ipad firmware...

    also been able to upgrade baseband to 06.15.00 (had to enter "YES" as answer for the question if I had a new iPhone 3GS.. although my weeknumber is 37).. after upgrade baseband is showing.. installed ultrasn0w and my Carrier is showing in the about-section... still can't make a phonecall though :(
    iphone keeps saying "no service"...

    I'll give it another shot this weekend...
     

Share This Page