iPhone 3g won't do 3 way calls?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by watermelon, Aug 9, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    Hey,
    I have 3 way calling in my plan, but when I click merge calls they don't merge into one call, even after the person has picked up?
    Thanks!
     
  2. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    .
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Auzburner

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY - USA
    #3
    IDK what to tell you man. This should work... Does for me with my standard iPhone plan...
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    #4
    OP maybe you should contact Apple because mine works fine.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #5
    I would make an appointment with the Genius bar, because that's something that's easy to demonstrate. If it's a problem with the phone, they'll replace it. If you're doing something wrong, they'll explain it.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    tjespo22

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Staten Island NY
    #6
    try restarting the phone? i used to make 3 way calls all the time but once in a while it would just not work. try restarting your phone.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #7
    Same Pb Here!

    I have exact same problem as you said.
    Problem is when you merge 2 parties into one; it is either you hear nothing at all from both parties, or you only can talk to 1 person putting the other person on hold.
    I called at&t 10 times to find a solution, still no go.
    Talking to a service representatives did not help much. They just remove 3 way call feature and put it back on to yyour account from their at&t system, or they suggest power cycle the phone, or call apple.(duh!) At times, it worked momentarily then voila, the same problem.:mad:
    Then I talked to a tech support, I do not know what it is called but the tech disconnected my iPhone 3g from the network and reconnected it. She said this process is different from partial remove/add features that customer support rep did, it was rather total reset from the network.
    Right after the talk with tech support, I was able to connect & merge 3 people together that I could not before. :cool: Next day, I tried three way calling for the same 3 people but it did not work ever since. :eek:
    I test called three way call today, calling 611 and Apple iPhone support number 800-694-7400 , and it works!. :confused: However, problem still exists when I try to connect my friends, the same 3 people mentioned above. :mad: What gives?
    Does the problem have something to do with my friends' carriers? One has T-mo, the other one has Helio, and the third has vonage VOIP home service.:confused:
    Please let me know what happens.:apple:
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    #8
    I called my house phone and my other cell phone and it wouldn't merge the calls :( They all have three-way calling, so I don't know what is wrong. I'm going to call AT&T tomorrow and see what they suggest.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    #9
    haven't tried yet with the 3G, i'll give it a whirl tomm.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #10
    Mine works perfectly, even though I've only used it once. If you truly believe it doesn't work, take it in to Apple and see what's up with it. Maybe you have a faulty phone or aren't doing something correctly, which I highly doubt because it's so simple. :p
     
  11. macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #11
    Maybe one of the parties is a little nervous and hesitate to do something like this.

    Ply them with alcohol and try again.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #12
    :confused:

    Please folks, try three way calling with your iPhone 3G if you haven't.

    So far 3 people in this thread reported problem with "merging."

    Let's see how it goes. :confused::confused:
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #13
    No problems here. I had 4 bars, and full 3G service.

    Ferrd
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #14
    has worked fine for me with 3G
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #15
    I've had the same problem, 3 way call works sometimes but most of the times i've tried it either no one can hear each other or you can only hear one of the callers, very annoying
     
  16. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    wow i feel special that im not the only one with this problem!
    Sometimes it will work BUT theres another problem even when it does work!
    You know how when you call, lets say, a store, and It's like press 1 for blah blah...well when I press 1 for blah blah nothing happens, and the other party in the 3 way call has to press it :( ... if anyone else is having this problem?

    But with the other issue at hand with merging the calls, I still have the problem most of the time :(
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #17
    I tried that dialing 611 and Apple support. When they both are connected tapping number pad did not work for me.
    Three way call problem continues......

    Folks, what are the carriers of your connected parties when you have merge problems ? :confused:
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    deannnnn

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    New York City & South Florida
    #18
    No problems here.
    Just tried three-way calling for the first time... (I never find the need to do it lol)... but it worked!
     
  19. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #19
    wow i feel even more special that im not the only one with the number pad problem now! :)
    The carriers are verizon.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #20
    I tried that again and the number pad worked while on three way call. :rolleyes:
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    manhattanboy

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    In ur GF's bed, Oh no he didn't!
    #21
    I used to have this problem but then it magically started working. Do a reset with the home and power keys and try it again.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    manhattanboy

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    In ur GF's bed, Oh no he didn't!
    #22
    I got it to work with 2 Verizon customers...
    just reset it and try patiently again.
     
  23. macrumors 603

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #23
    FWIW, I've been able to do this since 1st Gen. Actually, I've done 4-way calls a few times, and once a 5-way. It all still works on 3G.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #24
    I tried it successfully first try right after I got the phone. Haven't tried it since, with 2.0.1.
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #25
    Thanks manhattanboy for the info.;) That's what apple suggested.
    I'll try that again and report back.
     

Share This Page