Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

connormita

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 24, 2012
:apple:
Hey guys and gals,
I am a very tech savvy guy. When ever my friends have issues with apple products they are brought to me and i can usually solve it in no time at all. Except this one......

The other day my friend came to me with a iPhone 4 that he claimed he had "bricked" i found it funny he used that term because its VERY VERY hard to brick a iPhone 4 (GSM) if even possible? Anyways, i searched for many solutions and tried many times to restore in different ways but nothing will work. I will give you a detailed list of what i did and what happened etc.

ABOUT THE PHONE

First off, its a ATT 16g iPhone 4 jailbroken on 5.1.1 using greenposi0ns JB, color swapped all blue.
Second the iPhone behaves very odd, when you plug it into a wall charger it will prompt you with the "New Phone Setup" yet it will immediately send you to the "please connect to iTunes" screen. You cant even hit the little "i" to get the MEID or whatever it is for GSM phones ( i have verizon). So when i connect it to iTunes on my mac ( running on ML) or my PC (running on windows 7) the iPhone goes into a infinite boot loop OF DEATH. It just goes Apple logo, off, apple logo, off. etc. Then the second you unplug it the phone turns off right away.

WHAT I DID