iPhone 4 and the dreaded "No SIM" error ...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cmeisenzahl, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #1
    My daughter's 6 month old 4 is getting this off and on. Did anyone ever find a definitive fix for this? Taking the SIM card out and re-seating it seems to help for a while, but it comes back a day or two later.

    I guess I'll swing by the Apple store on the way home and see what they say.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    Have you tried getting a new SIM card? That would be my first step.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #3
    Not yet, thanks. I'll mention that tonight.
     
  4. dictoresno, Nov 29, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2012

    macrumors 68030

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    dont bother. when i had my first iphone 4, i started getting the error more and more. i finally got fed up and went to att to get a new SIM card. they replaced it for free, however the NO SIM error occurred a few hours later. sometimes you can fix it by going into airplane mode and back out, other times you need to totally reboot. i finally got fed up and went to apple. they said it was a hardware error and they replaced it, and i had to pay the $150 since i was out of warranty.

    btw, ive scoured the internet for hours and read everything about this error. i tried everything from replacing the SIM, to cutting it to putting tape on the sim try. people think the contacts were shorting it out on the tray, others think it was an internal reader error. it wasnt worth the hassle anymore. my replacement phone NEVER had the problem even with the same SIM card. problem must have been with the phone itself.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #5
    Just figured I would pass along an update. Last week I took my daughter to the Apple store and they replaced the SIM card. 5+ days later still haven't seen the problem reappear. Hope I didn't jinx it. ;-)

    I was a little skeptical because I got this error a year ago with my then new 4S and like 'dictoresno' it was never able to fixed, needed a new phone to resolve the problem.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    Glad to hear a new SIM card fixed the issue (at least for the moment!).
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    a new SIM card may temporarily make it appear to go away but when i did that, the problem came back later that day.
     

Share This Page