iPhone 4 is using 3G over the wifi

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by JonnyWhy, Feb 7, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #1
    My iPhone 4 is connected to wifi, but it is using the 3G network over the wifi. At the top, it says 3G and there is no wifi symbol, although in the wifi settings, it is connected. Is there a way to choose wifi over 3G to save my data? Every time the wifi symbol is there and I try to go to a website, it changes to the 3G symbol. Any help? Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Sounds like it has an issue connecting or staying connected to your router.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #3
    But my mom, brother, dad's iphones, and my 2 previous ipod touches are all able to connecto the the router flawlessly.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #4
    Any chance your router has MAC filtering or something like that?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    Ya know, I've noticed this problem as well too. It doesn't do it all the time, but on occasion I notice this because my fiancee is able to connect to wifi and I cannot even though in the settings it says I am...And it never seems to happen on my home network, just out and about.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #6
    Not sure, but how can I bypass it if this is the case?
     
  7. macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #7
    I will say it is the router. You have to look at the settings. Could be some setting in the router that limits the number of IPs it gives out.
    My GF router ran into problems because when her dad set it up he gave it like 7 or 8 max. That was fine until we were all visiting at once and then devices would not connect or worth with out a router reset.

    Problem was solve by increasing the number it could give out. You will be amazed how many IP a router has to hand out and how quickly you will eat threw a limit.

    For example here at home there are 3 phones, 2 360, 5 computers, 2 iPods, and 3 kindles connected to the router.
    That is at least 10 devices. If my sister comes home then you can add at least 3 more devices to that list. On top of that I am pretty sure I missed some.
    Reason for that list was to show how quickly they add up and it can max it out with out you going in and saying add more. Big time in todays world when you have DVD,TV and printers all sucking up extra IP addresses. Used to be just computers would be all that you had. The setting on the router could of been set up that way for security. But it is an easy fix.

    Lease typically last for 24 hours before they are renewed
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    Mine does this from time to time. my girls iphone will have no issue but mine will. It turns out to be my router (Linksys) I have to restart it by pulling the power and then its fine.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Location:
    Portugal
    #9
    my girlfriend's iphone sometimes has priority in 3g over wifi even thought it's still connected to the router. for example the face time tries to connect via 3G then it fails. but still uses data :mad::mad::mad:
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Location:
    Portugal
    #10
    btw it also fetches mail through 3g, but works correctly when browsing in web!
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Location:
    essex uk
    #11
    iPhone 4 is using 3G over the wifi

    Mine and my wifes do the same and it is eating half my data limit, it was fine on OS 5 ? router reset makes no differance
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    topmounter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    FEMA Region VIII
    #12
    My iPad never worked well with my Linksys router (WRT150N). I replaced it with a Netgear (WNDR7300) and I haven't found a device that it doesn't like.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    #13
    I'm on an iPhone 4 with tmobile. After getting a data plan with them my data connection was preferring 3G over wifi ALL the time. It did this on my 3GS also. No if ands or buts it's not my router because if my tmobile data gets cut off or capped, I can stay on wifi forever not one problem(I've tested throroughly). And has only been like this since ios 5. After getting overages and trying to figure this all out, tmobile says its my phone and it's defective(even tho it was happening on my 3GS also). So if its not my router and it's not tmobile then it HAS to be apple and the ios. With no resolution in sight I dropped the 3G Internet service and my wifi works perfectly!!!!
     

Share This Page