iPhone IPhone 4 Restore Problem (Error 21)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by akadi, May 12, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #1
    Hi,

    I urgently need help regrading the following:


    1) I have a locked iPhone 4. It was running on 4.0.2 before I upgraded it to 5.0.1 using redsnow to preserve the basbeband 1.59
    2) It was running fine for 3 month, but just today it can't register on the network, and keeps saying "searching"
    3)I tried reinstalling ultrasnow, but still the same problem
    34 I want to restore to 5.0.1 while preserving the BB

    here is what i tried:

    1)I have the shsh blob saved in tiny umbrella. I created a custom firmware with redsnow (NO_BB), then stitched the shsh blob to the custom FW. WHen i try to restore with iTunes i get an error 21 (when in pawned DFU mode) and error 1600 (when in recovery mode).

    2) I used redsnow to "Fix recovery", but still same errors as above


    What am I doing wrong?


    Your prompt response is highly appreciated.

    thanks
     
  2. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
    Your host is still set to cydia for the old firmwares:

    Open TinyUmbrella, go to advanced and UNcheck Set host to cydia, close TU, try again to restore in Pwn-ed DFU or normal DFU.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #3
    thanks for your quick response. I have unchecked set host to cydia before restoring. I have also tried restoring on both mac an pc with same results.
    any other ideas :confused:

    thanks again
     
  4. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #4
    it's a PC? not a Mac?

    try restarting pc and try again, if it still give same 21 or 1600 error your host file is still pointing to Cydia.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #5
    Its a mac, but i have also tried restoring on a pc

    ----------

    I am also using iTunes 10.6 (40) on mac....if this has any significance..

    ----------

    here is how the hosts files looks like under (sudo nano /private/etc/hosts) and (sudo nano /etc/hosts) :

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
    ::1 localhost
    fe80::1%lo0 localhost
    74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com
    #127.0.0.1 gs.apple.com
    127.0.0.1 secure.mfluent.com
     
  6. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #6
    find your host file on your MAC

    it's hidden and in /ETC

    Edit the the host file so that it reads: # 74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com



    You can't edit that directly, move it to desktop, edit with txteditor save and put back in /ETC folder overwriting old host file

    Now try again in DFU-mode
     
  7. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    Download TinyUmbrella
    Open it, go to Advanced Tab
    Check or uncheck the point host file to Cydia (clear cache if needed)
    Type gs.apple.com into browser to confirm where host file points
     
  8. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #8
    he tried that route...
     
  9. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #9
    Did he clear his cache.
    I have had issues with having to clear cache and reset Safari before to get this to switch over.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #10
    Thanks,

    I already have the set host to cydia UNCHECKED

    when I type gs.apple.com , the browser takes me to http://www.apple.com/404 Page not found
     
  11. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #11
    Used to have that on Snow Leopard and older TU, with Lion and latest TU switching is always good.

    ----------

    good to go than, same as i have
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #12
    darn still no luck, error 21 in pawned DFU and error 1600 in regular DFU..

    :confused:
     
  13. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #13
    still pointing at cydia than

    did you clear the cache like dhlizard suggested?
    what version of TU are you using, latest is 5.10.15

    you can also try to remove completely the lines with
    74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com
    #127.0.0.1 gs.apple.com

    Than restart
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #14
    I am using the latest version of TU. I cleared safaris's cache.
    i will try removing all entries from host file. silly question, does the TSS server in TU needs to be running? my trials were WITHOUT TSS server.
     
  15. TriJetHero, May 12, 2012
    Last edited: May 12, 2012

    macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #16
    ok i have removed all entries from the hosts file, expect for the 127 localhost.
    i cleared safari's cache. rebooted. pawned dfu mode. Error 21!!! :(

    just to make it clear. iTunes starts by extracting files, then it says preparing iPhone for restore, then the apple logo comes on the iPhone screen, then iTunes gives error 21

    this is not good!
     
  17. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #17
    are you sure you are in DFU mode when doing this?

    You get in by holding home and power together until phone turns off, keep hoding for 3 more seconds, than release power while holding home for 10 more seconds.

    Afterwards your screen should be black, nothing showing and itunes recognizing it as an iphone inrecovery mode
     
  18. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #18
    I use redsnow to get to DFU mode, and redsnow confirms the the phone is in DFU (it says exploiting with limera, then READY)

    ----------

    could it be a problem with the blob? shall i stitch the blob from cydia instead of the local? but then again i don't think thats the problem cause redsnow is able verify the blob and says that the APTicket is present and valid :confused:

    ----------

    and BTW, when i use the DFU method you described, i get error 1600. when i use the pawned DFU, i get error 21
     
  19. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
  20. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #20
    :):):) I got it to work!!

    I used snowbreeze on PC instead of redsnow on mac.

    On PC:
    -I extracted the SHSH blob from the iPhone using ifaith
    -Used snow breeze to create a custom IPW (in faith mode to stitch the extracted blob)
    -I also increased the part ions size to 2024 instead of 1024
    -DFU, itunes shift restore.. Viola!!

    I really don't know why i couldn't get it to work on mac using . I even tried to restore on the pc before, but i was using the firmware created by redsnow. I still got the 1600 error. But when using the custome firmware created by snowbreeze, worked like a dream!! Now my phone is restored to FW5.0.1 BB1.59 and signal is back !

    Thank you all for your help :):)
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    #21
    help plz.

    1. Do you mean the dump option in ifaith to extract the SHSH blob?
    2. I can't find faith mode in snow breeze.
    3. how and where to set the part ions size to 2020 instead of 1024?

    thanks!
     
  22. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #22
    1.Yes. Follow the wizard to get in DFU mode
    2.On snowbreez, after you select the IPSW, you have 4 options, Ifaith mode, simple mode, Expert mode, and baseband preservation mode.
    3.Its the partition size, auto correct spelled it wrong. Once you are in Ifaith mode, you select the blob file to stitch, and then there is a "General" button. Partition side is under that.


    This http://goo.gl/ncdca might help you, but its talking about "Expert mode" rather than "iFaith mode". Lemme know how it goes.
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    #23
    Yes, understood all pointers above, but is getting this error in iFaith

    [​IMG]

    I've been trying to fix my iPhone 4 GSM and tried all possible methods where I started a thread at http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1357474&highlight=iphone+4+bricked+photo

    Thanks for your help!
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Catalina Wine Mixer
    #24
    Was reading this thread, but just fyi found a solution to the error 21 problem in another thread.

    Stitching the original fw first, then creating custom firmware (in this order) worked. Was spending hours trying to figure the problem out.
     
  25. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    #25
    Is there any way that you can post a more "iPhone for Dummies" version. I'm having the same problem and only have access to a Mac right now. I could have access to a PC next week. Thanks for the help in advance. You seem to be describing the same issue I have encountered.
     

Share This Page