iPhone 4 without SIM card...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by devinh, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #1
    Can you use an iPhone 4 just like an iPod Touch without the SIM card? Giving it to my son since I got the iPhone 4S today but he's a year or two away from needing a phone.

    Is this possible?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #2
    Yes.

    Basically, just take your SIM out and give it to him.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #3
    Wanted to reset device and restore from his last iPod Touch backup in iTunes. Although, worst case, restore from the last iTunes backup with SIM in, take out SIM and try to mimic his last iPod Touch backup. Just time consuming. Any ideas?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #4
    I would say since it's your son, you wouldn't really need to worry about restoring. But you'll need to if you're putting his backup on.

    Is it even possible to use a backup from an iPod Touch through iTunes?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #5
    I restored the iPhone 4 to factory settings and it won't let you activate without a SIM. If I take out the SIM card while in phone mode, won't it say something like INSERT SIM all of the time on the screen?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #6
    Try using the SIM card that's not in your 4S. And take it out once you have a "normal" lock screen.

    But I'm still not sure if you can use an iPod Touch backup on an iPhone.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #7
    You don't necessarily have you use a SIM that has an active line..

    I've activated an iPhone 4 with a dead SIM once
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #8
    True, I still have the old SIM from the iPhone 4 and it should be inactive since I activated a new SIM (preinstalled) on the iPhone 4S. Plus, if anything, I should be able to "disable 3G" on the iPhone 4.

    Did we solve this guys and gals?
     

Share This Page