iPhone 5 - Data Plan change - did I goof?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by LFSimon, Sep 14, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    #1
    Ok, I was a bit bleary eyed placing order at 5AM on ATT site before my morning coffee.

    Phone 1: Had 2GB $25 plan which has always been plenty of data for that phone. Checkout confirm page showed the 200MB $15 plan, so I clicked to change and selected the 3GB $30 plan. Only afterwards did I check our last bill and see we had been on a $25 plan.

    >> Did I just get suckered into a $5/month increase for nothing?

    Did I miss the option to keep the $25 plan or was it not there at all?

    Phone 2: Had unlimited $30 plan as it was an older line. Upgrade process listed this as the default plan on the confirmation page so I made no changes.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #2
    It was NOT there, you did not imagine it.
    Same for my wife's I ordered.

    Suckered in for another 5.
     
  3. macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #3
    Wait so you could not choose 2GB for $25? You were forced into 200 MB for $15 or 3GB for $30?
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    The two gig plan showed up for me.. I called AT&T yesterday and asked about this. I was told if it did not show up, take the 3 gig plan, and when the phone arrived, do not turn it on, call AT&T - explain the situation and they will correct it immediately.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #5
    2 gb plan is apparently gone jessica.

    It only offered 200 mb for 15, 300mb for 20, or 3gb for 30- and up from there.
     
  6. macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #6
    That is pretty f'ed up. I know a ton of people who never hit 2GB, now to pay $5 more for another gig is just a waste to them.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #7
    You might be able to call and get it changed. Give it a try AFTER it arrives.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #8
    That is a little reassuring, I will call today.


    Agreed. I upgraded 2 lines for my wife and son who only use about 500-700mb.
    My son is getting my 4S though, so I have to do an upgrade to my line in a store apparently (I have unlimited).
    Hopefully I can keep the 2GB for her, my bill is high enough; and 300MB is a joke of course.
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    I was able to keep my 2 GB plan with AT&T. It showed up and i selected it. It also shows on the confirmation page that the 2 GB plan is what i picked. I rarely hit 1.5 GB and was happy to see it was still an option.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #10
    Are you on a premiere account by chance? I am btw- maybe that's the difference but I have no idea why if that's indeed the case.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #11
    Data plan woes

    LFSimon-

    Yeah, I was not quite with it (quite tired) and just selected what it came up with. Didn't click around to see what was available. When I called ATT yesterday the guy said "your data plan won't change and it'll cost the same" for 4G. But the order process apparently attempts to change the data plan.

    Thing is we won't have 4G in our area 'til 2013 sometime. So I am NOT paying this extra. Feel this was a little slight of hand on ATT's part. Plus the fact you need Shared Data Plan to get FaceTime over cellular. $$$$.

    S__ks.

    ...AR
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #12
    no I'm not. just a regular individual plan. nobody else is on my account. I do have a FAN discount through my medical school, if that matters.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #13
    I upgraded my dads line and 2GB wasn't available. It doesn't matter anyways cause the phone is going to my line which has 2GB data plan.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    #14
    The same thing happened to me. I currently have a 2GB plan but when I preordered the iPhone 5, the 2GB didn't show. So I had to select the 3GB. I'll be calling AT&T though to confirm that I want to keep my 2GB plan!
     
  15. Traderalways, Sep 14, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #15
    I'm sure u will work it out....
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    greytmom

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #16
    AT&T did that to me last year on my text plan. Pissed me off.

    I've never ordered the phone through Apple before, always went with the carrier. I really liked the process with Apple this time... came up and said "current plan $30 unlimited data" and that was that.
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    #17
    You know I will!
     

Share This Page