iPhone 5 keeps saying no SIM installed

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bcooln, Dec 2, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    hi, i have my iphone for about a month already. However, from yesterday till now, my phone keep say no sim install. I have to turn the phone off and on back to get signal. then it last about couple hours, then it back to no sim install again. I tried to reset the phone, but the issue still occur. so is it the hardware issue, i went to tmobile and get a new sim card too. plz help
     
  2. macrumors 603

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
    #2
    Go to the Apple store. I had this problem and they swapped out my phone immediately.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    last time i have problem, i went to apple store, they told me i have tmobile, so they can't help me. so i don't know should i tried to go the again, the closet apple store from me is 90 minutes away
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Minhimalism

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    That's complete ******** (I've run into it too though) because they're servicing your phone, not the ****ing plan you're on. I hate how they pull this crap.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    so did they finally fix your problem?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Minhimalism

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    :0 i did personally after my genius "asked the manager flr his approval." Not sure how its goin for the OP
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    i'm out of luck with these genius. they just let me to have a replacement phone, even though they acknowledge the problem i have. so pretty i have to turn my phone off and one couple times a day now, unless i drop my phone in water and willing to pay 49.99
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #8
    I had this same problem the morning after getting my iPhone 5....No Sim Installed is all it would say. All I did to fix it is pull the sim card out...wipe it off and blow out the sim card slot in the phone with compressed air and then put the card back in. Haven't had a single problem with it since.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    #9
    Have you tried getting a new SIM card from you carrier?

    I had this problem on older iPhone that was jailbroken and unlocked with Ultrasn0w. I was having a problem with prepaid SIM in Brazil. Reseting the network settings would temporarily fix the issue, but for some reason I turned the phone off and popped open the the SIM and pushed it back in place. It fixed the issue. Not sure if that will help you or not.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #10
    i had this issue with my iphone 4. it was out of warranty so they replaced it for $150. they acknowledged it was a hardware defect. since youre still under warranty, replacement shouldnt be an issue.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    i got a new sim card already. but the problem still occur. i brought it to apple store today and the genius told me, i have tmobile, they don't support tmobile, so can't do anything about it. i guess i will try another apple store this weekend to see what happen
     

Share This Page