iPhone 5 - Proof of being laggy

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Adutrumque, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Adutrumque

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #1
    Ye, so I recently started this thread about scrolling lag and animations/exit applications lag and so I just bought geekbench to help me out in the argument.


    I claim that my iPhone 5 is laggy. Something is not right.


    So my story is that its a replaced iPhone 5. My iPhone came in a seperate box because I asked to return my original one.

    I think that my reseller repaired the phone that I got and just sent my original iPhone for the same matter - repairing.

    So someone else will get my iPhone but repaired.



    Iam furious about this and heres the result of geekbench:
    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/1483948

    I usually get 1660 and around that but sometimes this score happens. 990.
    And so on. It can go down on 1500, 1400 etc.


    What should I do?
     
  2. sammich, Jan 7, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013

    macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    Yes. Your repairer swapped out your iPhone CPU for a slower one. You should be furious.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Adutrumque

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    Not like that. But some components could be "burned" or something causing this lag.

    Maybe this was the reason for it being sent to the repairstation in the first place?
    Because someone complained that it was slow??
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #4
    Are you sure that setting the phone up as new wouldn't help it? Can't think of any other reason.
     
  5. macrumors G5

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    Agreed. I would try setting up the phone as new and then testing it. There might be an issue with a program.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #6
    I just ran geekbench on my iPhone 5 and got near as makes no difference the same score as yours.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Adutrumque

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    I already did this and then backed up from iCloud.

    Maybe, 3 times.
     
  8. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #8
    Take a nap? Eat a cookie?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Adutrumque

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #9
    Done, done.
    No but seriously Iam frustrated because I have a feeling someone ripped me off.

    Maybe they dont tell us because thats the harsch truth?

    they let resellers repair phones instead of apple themselves..
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #10
    Hardware tech here:

    Impossible.
    That is normal modern CPU's and hardware change their clock speeds as the device is running to save power for instance when you are runnng a game 1600 when you are just browsing 990. For instance an intel i5 3570k can run at 3.4ghz at mazimum when set to the stock multiplier however normally it runs at only 1 or 2 ghz in order to save power. The lower speeds are good and are saving you power/increasing performance when you need it most.
    Impossible.

    So basically your phone is fine the only problem may be software in which case restore your phone but DO NOT restore from iCloud backup and if that fixes it, it may be software. But I highly doubt there is anything wrong with your device anyway.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Adutrumque

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #11
    Thanks for a serious reply.

    But as you state yourselves, you "highly doubt" - but there is a chance, you admit - that there is something going on in my device.
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Bernard SG

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #12
    Why don't you just try a restore as recommended? Then you'll know if there's hardware issue. You doth protest too much.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Dr Sam Beckett

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    #13
    im fairly certain he just said "highly doubt" because he doesnt know everything there is to know about iphone hardware..so he cant say %100 certain you cant.. but from what he knows that cant be it.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #14
    Geekbench is such a crapshoot. My rMBP is usually around 11k. I just ran it and got 5k and then 4k.

    If it's really slow, do a full wipe of the phone.
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Rocko1

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    #15
    Install Linpack and report your numbers.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #16
    I agree. Restore as new and DO NOT BACKUP FROM ICLOUD OR FROM PREVIOUS BACKUP.

    This will eliminate any software conflicts, issues. If Linpack still shows lower scores, then you may have a hardware issue.

    Good luck!
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Adutrumque

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #17
  18. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #18
    Can we get a video of this "laggy" behavior?
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Adutrumque

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #19
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    #20
    There is a chance in the technical sense of a non-zero logical probability, although it may very well be the case that the metaphysical probability is zero. In any case, exceptionally implausible.

    A modern empirical proof of a hypothesis, at least one worth taking seriously, involves not only producing confirmatory evidence, but falsifying alternative hypotheses as well. Otherwise your hypothesis is exceptionally prone to confirmation bias and the resulting proof is relatively weak. What you posted may, albeit somewhat ambiguously, support your hypothesis but it hardly falsifies a number of plausible alternatives. As macingman noted, CPUs (especially SoCs like an A6) dynamically clock to save power. CPUs also gate (i.e. dynamically turn on and off) portions of the system. There is a few-millisecond latency penalty to this behavior such that on a benchmark there may be, for example, troughs in the time series recording throughput that will lower the score.

    It may also be worth noting that even cursory research would have turned up users reporting the same behavior (look at App Store reviews).
     
  21. macrumors 68020

    Rocko1

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    #21

    Your phone is fine. Those numbers are what I see.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Adutrumque

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #22
    That's good to hear. Then it's software , right ?
    Ill do a clean reset.
     
  23. macrumors 68020

    Rocko1

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    #23
    More than likely.

    I don't think it's your CPU at all.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Dr Sam Beckett

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    #24
    yep like several have been stating.....
     
  25. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #25
    I think they took out your 1GB memory chip probably and installed a 512 ram module and stuck in an old AMD athlon cpu too.:D
    Anyway, you need to stop worrying about those geekbench score results and such. You will get a different number each time you try and in the end they dont mean much.
    Enjoy your phone, if you have a serious hardware malfunction then ask to have it replaced. Dont get obsessed over nothing.
     

Share This Page