iPhone 5 South Korea model A1429 CDMA question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by wesk702, Nov 21, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #1
    Ok so according to this on Apple's site, I would need the A1429 GSM model for use in South Korea
    http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/

    Unfortunately, the A1429GSM model is not for sale in the US and the US only sells the A1429 CDMA model(the verizon one).

    Question is, according to the chart it looks like the Verizon model carries all of the bands the A1429 GSM model does and then some. Does this mean the
    Verizon A1429 CDMA model will get LTE on South Korea's networks?

    If so then how come it doesn't show it on the LTE chart?

    Confused on the layout of the chart
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    Seoul, South Korea
    #2
    i came across this the other day and i'm not sure if it's gonna help you or make you more confused but i thought i'd share. the english isn't exactly perfect. from what i understand, getting a verizon iphone 5 should work.

    http://koreatechblog.com/apple/bringing-an-american-bought-iphone-5-into-south-korea-for-lte-use/
     
  3. macrumors member

    Jason99kr

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA, USA
    #3
    Get A1429 CDAM Verizon. not Sprint one.
    I heard Sprint has MMS receiving problem.
    You will be able to use it on KT (Olleh) & SKT. I prefer KT better.
    but I heard you will need to visit Olleh Square in Seoul to get nano-sim card(for now, since iPhone has not launched in South Korea yet)
    there's pre-paid plan for KT. (Olleh Simple) just keep that in mind
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    #4
    I heard few people in Korea are using verizon model LTE.

    I bought verizon model so I can use LTE in Korea as well.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #5
    Thanks, I will be getting this for my mom.
    She plans on using this for a few months in the states. Is it true if I buy a device only phone, I'll have trouble activating it at tmobile?
     
  6. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Nope, if you buy device only a verizon iphone 5 you will have no probs activating it with tmobile or any gsm sim.
     

Share This Page