iPhone 5 won't ring on incoming call

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by chris566, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carolina
    #1
    New Sprint user here. I receive text notifications, even voicemail, but my phone will not ring or show that I've missed a call. I do, however, get call waiting notifications when I'm on a call. That is the only time I can tell when a call is coming in. I hope nobody else is experiencing this, but let me know if you do. Any advice..other than switching back to AT&T?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #2
    Did you port your AT&T number to Sprint? It sounds like it is not complete!

    Dave
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carolina
    #3
    Yes. I feel like it was completed. People can call me at the ported number and leave me a msg or send a text.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #4
    Alright, I'll ask...did you make sure the ringer volume is up, that the mute switch is not on?
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #5
    Do you stil have your AT&T phone on? To verify the port is complete, check your port stats here: http://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/LNPControllerServlet

    Also you can try calling your number and see if the AT&T device still rings. That would also indicate the port is not complete.

    Dave
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carolina
    #6
    :) yes, phone is turned up and mute switch isn't on. I get no notifications that an incoming call came through.

    ----------

    Thanks. Here is the port status:


    We are sorry, we could not locate a port request for the number that you entered. Please check the number and try again. If you feel you have received this message in error, please contact Customer Service at 1-800-922-0204. Thank you for choosing Verizon Wireless.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    2ef32
    #7
    missing calls no ring

    In just one day I had something like 10 missing calls and my iphone 5 was on my desk.
    What a disaster, customers think I don't want to answer.
    I'M TIRED OF THIS SITUATION.
    i PHONE 5 IS A FLUNK!:mad:
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #8
    How can you tell that it is your phone and not the carrier?
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #9
    I've had this happen to me several times also. However, I didn't port my number. I just upgraded my phone through AT&T. I'll probably call AT&T tomorrow and see what they say. Hopefully I won't need to replace my iPhone because mine looks flawless so far.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    aphexacid

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #10
    Do not disturb?
    My friend wasn't getting notified of calls and he had do not disturb on.

    If that's not it, try a factory restore.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #11
    No, do not disturb is off...I checked. It's funny, this doesn't happen all the time. I imagine that I receive most calls, but knowing that some don't go through is troubling.

    Thanks for the tip about doing a restore. I'll try that as a last resort before going to the Apple Store.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    #12
    I am also suffering from this problem. If I call my phone 10 times, it may ring 3 or 4 times! I have contacted sprint & apple with no resolution. I have tried a reset, restore, refresh, service update, & I even got a replacement phone. I am having the same issues!
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    I thought you had sprint... :confused:
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carolina
    #14
    I thought that maybe this was a tool to checks port status on a universal (US) level. I don't know.

    Anyway..it turns out to be a problem with Sprint LTE upgrades and one tower in particular that my house uses. Still having the same problem in Charlotte, NC.
     

Share This Page