iPhone 5s Unknown BLUE SCREEN Thread

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by stephen1108, Sep 20, 2013.

  1. stephen1108, Sep 20, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    #1
    I was in Chrome loading a page, and I noticed it was lagging and unresponsive a bit. Then out of no where this blue screen comes up w/ like 4 red vertical lines and then my phone resprung. I think it might be an iOS 7 problem, but I'm not sure... I'm actually not sure if it restarted, or resprung.

    Any idea on what the problem could have been?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    BJonson

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    #2
    My safari has crashed twice but did not exhibit that behavior. Wait for 7.1.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    #4
    I've had something similar. The first time I launched Settings and it flashed a blue screen and rebooted itself. The second time I was trying to get into one of my data management apps and it did it again. I returned it anyway and am staying with my 5, but when I was returning it at the Apple store, the guy asked me if I would just like to get it replaced.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    #5
    Interesting! I haven't had it happen since so I'm not returning it yet. But if it persists, I'm most definitely getting it replaced.

    Why did you flat out return it and not replace it?
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Replacement for what? Apple doesn't warranty against faulty 3rd party apps. Send a big report to google.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    #7
    Because that's not normal behavior for an iOS device period. It's never happened before with any of my iPhones or iPad. You would think if an app is faulty, it would cause the app to crash, not for the entire system to reboot. Isn't that how Apple built iOS?

    Clearly I'm not the only one who's experienced this issue, this happened to the guy above with the stock settings app.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    #8
    It did it multiple times since yesterday, but I had the 5 since launch and have always upgraded every year but there wasn't a huge difference from going to the 5 to 5s, at least in my opinion (when I upgraded from 4 to 4S, I could tell the difference). I figure eh, it's okay. I'll wait out for the 6 or whatever it's called next time.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    #9
    Ahhhhh ok, well to each their own!

    Hopefully this isn't a problem that persists. I've already added all my screen protectors and whatnot. If I have to get the phone replaced that would be really inconvenient. >.>
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Karpfish

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    #10
    Correct. Apps are sandboxed so any problems within an app will not influence the overall system. If the system is forced to reboot, it's more than just an app issue.
     
  11. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #11
    No iOS App should have the ability to do what the OP has described. It's an iOS problem.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    triptolemus

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
  13. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13
    So apple is now in charge of fully testing and fixing every app in the App Store? Interesting assessment.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #14
    if i were pessimistic id just say its a grand conspiracy and say Google purposely makes its app suck on iOS so people will be like iPhone sucks, im switching to android. Let me go buy that Nexus that nobody else in the world has.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    #15
    I had a random respring in settings this morning, iOS 7 Beta 1 style. I'm sure they'll iron out the bugs quickly. It's been stable overall.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Troneas

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    At the alternatives section.
    #16


    as the name implies, it crashed and re-loaded springboard.

    though its probably written "resprang"
     
  17. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #17
    No, Apple is in charge of ensuring that Apps are properly sandboxed and that the APIs it provides to developers are not broken.

    An App shouldn't be able to crash the OS, even if it wanted to.
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #18
    The op didn't just open chrome and it crashed. They used chrome to go to some web page and some rare collection of events caused a crash. Not apples responsibility. Again. Send bug report to google.
     
  19. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #19
    No, as I said, there's not anything that Chrome should be able to do, even in a "rare collection of events" that would result in the OS crashing.

    The OS should:

    1) Prevent any action like that

    2) Ensure that if one App does crash, others (as well as system processes) are not impacted in any way.

    I'd imagine if you look in the logs on the OP's device, you'll find that Springboard or another Apple application crashed - so Apple will get the bug report.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    #20
    I'm glad other people feel the same way I do about apps being sandboxed :)

    I know that no app should be able to crash the OS even if the developers tried to build it that way.
     
  21. macrumors 68000

    lelisa13p

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA USA
    #21
    Spring, sprang, sprung. Conjugates the same way. :)
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #22
    Exactly.
     
  23. macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
  24. macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
  25. macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #25
    It is highly likely that it would be fixed with a 7.0.x update before the 7.1 update is released.
     

Share This Page