iPhone address book Country field

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by orionpower, Oct 1, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #1
    can someone tell me how tochange the default country code from United States to Canada ( where I live)???
    I cant found out how to change it.!?!!?
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #2
    I thought both US and Canada country code is +1, no?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #3
    yes but i was talking in the address section
    where they talk about street zip code states a country it on US and im in CAnada
    how do i make it so its canada

    i dont want to change it all the time
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #4
    Sorry, I misunderstood your question. I have never created a new contact on the phone, all my contacts are on my Exchange server and addresses are created there and synced to the phone. Not sure there is a way to change the default. I've only changed the default number format for phone numbers as HK numbers are 8 digits (without area code).
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Sobe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Wash DC suburbs
    #5
    Might this have something to do with where the iPhone is sold (or rather not sold)?
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #6
    Default United States Address Format in Address Book

    Let me explain.
    The default United States address format in Address Book automatically set any address country to ”United States”. After synced with my iPhone, whenever I Google Maps my address, it comes up error, because it ends with “United States”, but I'm from Malaysia.

    Manually fixing this is to “back delete” United States every time I do a google map search. I understand that by creating a new contact with either Address Book or iPhone, I have the option to input Malaysia in the country field, but I have 300 contacts and I wonder how to auto script fill country code to Malaysia and if it works after synced with iPhone, since Address Book shows no option of Malaysia Address Format to auto input Malaysia in Country.

    Hope I'm making this clear and looking forward for any suggestion! Thank you!
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #7
    Where in Malaysia are you? My dad is from Malaysia.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Location:
    Bangalore
    #8
    Go to Settings > International > Select your country (Region settings)..

    Contacts is populating default coutry from what you set as your region in this settings...
     

Share This Page