iPhone and iPod Touch...Can I please get a definite answer?

Discussion in 'iPhone/iPad Programming' started by chrono1081, Apr 19, 2009.

  1. macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #1
    After coming up literally 50/50 on google and such I'm dying to know the answer to this question:

    If I develop an iPhone application will it work on both the iPhone AND iPod touch?

    I've been googling this question and I see both yes and no answers and when I look for books for iPod touch programming on amazon iPhone programming books pop up or "How to use your iPod touch" books. From my understanding they both purchase from the same app store. Can someone please tell me a definite answer to my above question?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #2
    YES. They run the same OS.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #3
    Thank You!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D
     
  4. macrumors demi-god

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/7A280f Safari/525.20)

    Some apps won't work with first gen Touches, that's probably where the discrepancy is.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Also, bear in mind that the iPod touch has no camera, so be sure to check that the user is using an iPhone (via the UIDevice class) before using the UIImagePicker camera APIs.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    Cambridge
    #6
    Ditto GPS, so CoreLocation won't be particularly accurate.
     

Share This Page