iPhone available for T-Mobile in 3-4 months

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Steevie, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    #1
    How many people out there are actually willing to change carriers??
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #2
    I had T-mobile in the sidekick days. Simply put, never again.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    My main line is an iPhone 5 with Verizon but I also have a special unlimited everything line with T-Mobile open that's $20 per month.

    Once they get lte here in charlotte though I will consider dropping Verizon altogether. Tmobile has real unlimited data and the best rate plans. Only thing missing was the iPhone.

    They do have some major issues of 2G only areas between cities but I don't travel enough for it to be a big deal.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    MN, USA
    #4
    Take my advice - A SGS2 user, bought an unlocked iPhone 5 after T-mobile announced Minneapolis is refarmed. Lousy coverage. I have Edge most of the time, and when you do see 3G on your iPhone and you enter a building it switches back to Edge. I frequently have seen no service on my iPhone 5, which I never see on the T-mobile HSPA+ network. I switched back to SGS2. The refarmed 1900 Mhz 3G compatible with iPhones is worse than Sprint. You get what you pay for. And there is more..! T-mobile while claiming 120 million US population covered in 40 cities, it refuses to put 3G coverage maps!
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    #5
    I have always loved T-Mobile but my problem was the inconsistency of their 3G/HSPA+ network. I was using the S3 on T-Mobile for a while and it liked to just switch to EDGE. The network needs a lot of work if you ask me. AT&T has the $$$ to max out their network, T-Mobile doesn't Way too many EDGE only places.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    yeah

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    #7
    man T-Mobile really sucks doesnt it... I guess you do get what you pay for.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    #8
    Coverage varies for everyone.. I'm in Orlando, this is with an iPhone 5. Check airportal.de for coverage. Also, there is performance differences between HSPA+ on 1900 and on AWS, at least here in Orlando I have friends on AWS HSPA+ that get consistent 20MB+ performance on their phones.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    MN, USA
    #9
    HSPA+ on AWS does not work for iPhones. So that discussion is irrelevant here. The fact remains that T-Mobiles 3G running on 1900 MHz is spotty and Eakins. The higher frequency is unable to penetrate buildings and will be poor laggard among the 4 national networks. No iPhone has got 20 Mbs + on T-Mobile network. I challenge you to post those speed screen capture shots.

     
  10. corys00, Jan 14, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2013

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    #10
    I'm not implying the iPhone uses AWS, if it did all this refarming wouldn't be happening. I mentioned with AWS HSPA+ devices there is better performance to be had. As for the spotty argument, once again, coverage is relative to your location and what works for you doesn't necessarily work for me and vice versa.

    I am usually over on the east side of Orlando and do not lose 3G coverage inside of friends houses. They've not even announced Orlando and I am rather happy with 3G coverage for ME. Once again, what works for me might not work for you.
     

Share This Page