iPhone Canada?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by quigleybc, Jan 15, 2007.

  1. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #1
    Will it even come here ?

    Will it be with Rogers ?

    Do you care to speculate ?
     
  2. aiongiant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #2
    i think it's gonna be Rogers
    since it's an AT&T company

    but i'm guessing it won't come out till the same time Europe release

    hopefully it comes out sooner thought
    and hopefully it won't be super expensive im on rogers plan already so shouldn't be too bad
     
  3. tutubibi macrumors 6502a

    tutubibi

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    localhost
    #3
    Rogers is not AT&T company, they used to run their mobile network (TDMA days) in partnership before Rogers bought out AT&T (original one). But since Rogers is only GSM provider in Canada and iPhone is GSM phone, it will be on Rogers network when it comes to Canada, 3-4 years from now :D

    Or Apple can offer something really revolutionary for North America mobile market and start selling unlocked iPhone without forcing tie-in with any network operator (Rogers, Cingular). Something that SonyEricsson already does.
     
  4. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #4
    If Rogers is the only GSM provider in Canada and the iPhone is GSM, why be concerned about being tied to Rogers' network? Or do you think there will be other networks with GSM soon?
     
  5. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #5
    I've heard the market is so small here that it won't even be released here.

    I argued that the ROKR was released here, and I think it will get here some day, maybe christmas next year....
     
  6. tutubibi macrumors 6502a

    tutubibi

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    localhost
    #6
    Because I would like to put another SIM when I go somewhere outside Canada. Every time I go to Europe, I just buy local prepaid SIM for 10-20 CAD equivalent and get local number so no roaming charges, no international long distance for people there who want to call me.

    Much cheaper than paying 3 CAD/minute for roaming :)
     
  7. Chef Medeski macrumors 6502a

    Chef Medeski

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #7
    No its coming. I saw an add for it on the Metro. Something about iPhone coming in June on Rogers. Not exactly sure... it was in french. But its definetely.
     
  8. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #8
    don't worry. i won't buy it until they release the nano version of it.
    i already have a ipod and a cellphone :mad:
     
  9. tutubibi macrumors 6502a

    tutubibi

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    localhost
    #9
    I'll wait for pico version :)
     
  10. tipdrill407 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #10
    When the iPhone comes to Canada, it'll be either Rogers or Fido, but it doesn't really matter because after the buyout from rogers, both are the same CRAP network.
     
  11. Kaibot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #11
    It is going to be Rogers, and it will be sometime in the 4th quarter of '07

    Edit: I'm sure you will be able to find it on eBay a little after it's released, or maybe I could get my mom to send one up to me from the US.:)

    Ethier way if you have a sim card it doesn't really matter, just put it in and you're set. I am hoping they come out with models that have a bit more storage before I am too temped and get one.
     
  12. BillyShears macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    #12
    Here's an article I found

    Rogers: iPhone coming to Canada. The article seems to get it's info from this blog post.

    • 2 or 3 year contract (3 year contract lowers initial cost of iPhone)
    • Must be linked to a data plan on the EDGE network
    • "the company has historically offered smartphones to Canadians between six to eight months after the devices' release in the US" (i.e. late 2007 or early 2008)
    • Bell & Tellus support unlikely since they don't have CDMA support
     
  13. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #13
    Errr... it's a "locked" phone.
     
  14. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #14
    Something else Canadians should be interested in....if the screen only responds to the touch of skin...what happens when you are outdoors in freezing temperatures? Not convinient to take off your gloves to dial. Specially in an emergency :confused:
     
  15. KD7IWP macrumors 6502a

    KD7IWP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    American living in Canada
    #15
    I'm not a fan of locked phones. I like to break them in frustration as I cross the border on my way to school...
     
  16. stcanard macrumors 65816

    stcanard

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #16
    Last phone I saw with keys big enough to dial with winter gloves on was my Nokia brick.

    Its voice dial or nothing when you're outside.
     
  17. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #17
    I have a Nokia 6600 and usually navigate to a number in my recents list with the thumb stick. I can do that just fine with gloves on :) Unless they are like ski gloves I can also dial the numbers.
     
  18. Xyl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #18
    I think living in Vancouver, you won't need to wear winter gloves (except this year). :p
     
  19. DigitalN. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #19
    Some of us living a little farther up north, need to wear the big winter gloves or we end up not having fingers left. So if the iPhone does not have voice dialing like my Moto V265 has, I am not getting one.
     
  20. stcanard macrumors 65816

    stcanard

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #20
    Yeah, but the neoprene gloves for the bike are even worse! I can't even work my iPod when the are on...
     
  21. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #21
    the iphone's size is too bulky for me. plus it dont vibrate. if the LG KE850 PRADA were to have quad band i probably will go for it instead
     
  22. stcanard macrumors 65816

    stcanard

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #22
    Okay, all other arguments I can understand, but the one I really don't get is the complaint that it's too large --

    How do you fit a 3.5" screen into a smaller package?
     
  23. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #23
    make it sized 98.8 x 54 x 12 mm like the Prada does :)
    how do you think they fit the screen in the ipod nano? that's right, they made it 1.5"
     
  24. stcanard macrumors 65816

    stcanard

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #24
    But you don't surf the web or read email on a nano!

    My point is more this: For what the iPhone is supposed to do, you really don't want the screen any smaller. If you want it smaller, then what you really want isn't an iPhone.
     
  25. JonHimself macrumors 68000

    JonHimself

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #25
    From what my friend told me (who works at Rogers - not retail, like head office) Apple would not allow Rogers to subsidize the cost of the phone. So, they couldn't sell the phone for cheaper if you sign a longer contract BUT they might offer discounts on the monthly service charges if you sign a longer contract.. not sure exactly how that works, but that's what they've said.
     

Share This Page