iPhone dialer hidden in iPod Touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by mgkumar, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #1
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #2
    Nice useless easter egg. Maybe a Skype plugin someday.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    thesdx

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Location:
    On the wall behind a Stopper II
    #3
    Didn't work on mine. I tried double-tapping the home button, and nothing happened.
     
  4. PMB
    macrumors 65816

    PMB

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    same here. wonder if i was jailbroken at one point,and had the home button changed?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    thesdx

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Location:
    On the wall behind a Stopper II
    #5
    That wouldn't carry over to the 1.1.3 upgrade. When you restore an iPod, all data gets erased and it reinstalls the OS.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    it's not happened to me. I think that it's only jailbreak version. when I saw his video, it looked like jailbreak.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
  8. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #8
    Apple just basically took the iPhone firmware and stuck it into the iPod Touch. There are reminders of this all over the place such as when you have the passcode lock on and enter the wrong code several times. It will lock up and tell you the iPhone is locked.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #9
    And when you dont lose signal on wifi while safari was trying to do something and it says Please connect to Edge or Wifi
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
  11. macrumors 6502

    safetyobc

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #11
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #12
    I don't think it is jailbroken. It doesn't look like he has the installer app (at least not on the first page). The extra icons are the iPhone apps and then a couple of webpages.

    Mine is jailbroken however. And I noticed it only works if you in cover flow mode or if you are looking at the cover art of a song.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #13
    I actually had this happen to me once. However, I believe it is due to the fact that my ipod was jailbroken. After some research it would seem that the Nate True method of jailbreaking the iPod Touch (i.e. 1.1.1 directly to 1.1.3) uses the iPhone firmware instead of the iPod touch firmware. This is also causing many of the issues people are having with DRM iTunes music not playing back on jailbroken 1.1.3 who used this method.
     

Share This Page