iPhone Firmware Downgrade, Not So Fast

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Sep 27, 2007.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]

    Some early upgraders of iPhone Firmware 1.1.1 who are accustomed to 3rd party applications may be interested in restoring their iPhones to the previous firmware, version 1.0.2.

    At the moment, this does not appear to be possible due to the new firmware's use of upgraded GSM modem firmware, which is not downgrade-able by simply applying the old system firmware. More information can be found via this hackint0sh forum thread.

    Naturally, we will monitor the situation and provide updates as warranted.

    Article Link
     
  2. Editor emeritus

    longofest

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Location:
    Falls Church, VA
    #2
    ... which by the way SUCKS. I really liked those 3rd party apps.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    #3
    Well, I bit the bullet and did the upgrade-- big mistake :(

    I'm already missing iBlackjack and my customized summerboard :/ Black is sooo boring :( :(

    BTW, in case anyone is wondering, non-iTMS custom ringtones don't work at ALL with 1.1.1, even with iTunes 7.4.1 and the renaming hack.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    #4
    that's a swift kick in the nuts for anyone attempting to upgrade, see what it's like, and attempt to downgrade to 3rd party apps

    Hope those haxorz get movin!
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #5
    Like me...and I didn't even want to use 3rd party aps or unlock it. I just wanted to use it with a non iPhone AT&T plan which I had. Now my day old iPhone is stuck waiting for me to pay $20 more a month for 24 months or wait for an activation hack.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #6
    why did you update it?
     
  7. macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #7
    I have a feeling this one might come back and bite Apple in the butt.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #8
    Good question, partially because I thought I could go back to 1.0.2
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    gceo

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
    Exchange it. It's only a day old.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #10
    Custom ringtones still working


    I updated to 1.1.1 and my custom ringtones are still working on iTunes 7.4.1.
    I didn't use a program to install them, I manually did the renaming and they are still working fine.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #11
    anySIM and iPhoneSimFree

    Well, I locked my iPhone using anySIM, but per reports I cannot update it to the new firmware (1.1.1) until the dev team figures out how to relock the phone to "virgin" state. However, iPhoneSimFree's method does seem to withstand the update. Could I theoretically purchase iPhoneSimFree's software and apply it to my iPhone (which is already unlocked via anySIM), and then update the firmware to 1.1.1?
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #12
    So you've already installed the update? I've yet to talk to anyone that had install.app and tried updating. I'm really apprehensive to update my iPhone, I am with AT&T so I didn't unlock it but I had the installer.app on it. I can do without the third party applications because I didn't have them on there for a long period of time I just want to double check my iPhone will still work after updating it.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #13
    I ordered it online and I don't think they'll just give me a new one for no reason. It's not bricked, I just can't activate it in iTunes because I don't want to pay $20 more a month for 2 yrs.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    KittyToy

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando
    #14

    your phone will still work u just wont have any more 3rd party aps...the new frimware just restores your phone back to the original state, but it wont brick it, because i had app tap and installed the update and my phone still works as it did before
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
  16. macrumors 6502

    pedroistheman

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #16
    if i buy an iphone right now, can i downgrade to 1.0.2 or is that out of the question? When are 3rd party apps expected to be available on 1.1.1?
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #17
    This thread needs to be either closed or updated as the headline is no longer accurate. Many people here and at hackint0sh have confirmed that a method illustrated by user KMAC works like a charm to downgrade.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=362515

    and

    http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=9032

    Phone will get wi-fi and other non-phone functionalities back.

    Development of a baseband downgrade is in progress and should be completed shortly, after which those risk takers can safely get back to 1.0.2 completely.

    http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=9105
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #18
    You should be able to downgrade to 1.0.2 as soon as the baseband downgrade is complete. If you buy the phone now, you will be able to downgrade to 1.0.2 but won't be able to use the phone function. That should be fixed in a few days, so just wait it out and then you can do a full downgrade. :)
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    pedroistheman

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #19
    So even w/ ATT, there would be no phone functionality?
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Kantuckee
    #20
    No, i have AT&T and i did the downgrade this morning. All phone functions, texting, and visual voicemail still work just fine, and i still have the modem firmware that came with the 1.1.1 update.
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    pedroistheman

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #21
    best news I have heard in a while. so would you say the downgrade is worth the trouble even w/ an att locked phone?
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Kantuckee
    #22
    I'm really happy I downgraded. I synced it right before I started it, so when you get to the step at the end where it restores to the last sync in itunes, all of my contacts, settings, calendars, etc were there. I just had to resync my music and movies, put in my voicemail, wifi, and email account passwords, and I was good to go. Of course I had to put my NES roms and ringtones back on using SSH, but that's no biggie either. If you really miss apptap, definitely go for it, you won't be sorry.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #23
    finnaly ..

    Hope to get the 1.1.1 sorted out soon ..
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #24
    Safari stops phone calls HELP!!!!

    This may be well known but has been a big problem for me. Please let me know if others have the same problem. While on the edge network (Not Wi-fi) and having Safari open my phone will not inform me of any incoming calls and voicemails take 10-30min to show up.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #25
    Obviously if you're using edge you cant receive phone calls.
    Its like using your phone line for dialup internet and expecting to receive phonecalls at the same time also.
    It dont work like that.
    But voicemails should show up shortly after you log off the web/edge

     

Share This Page