iPhone = NEW REMOTE for my Apple TV...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by wnxgenral, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #1
    Use iTunes 7.7 to sync music, video, and more with iPhone 3G, and download applications from the iTunes Store exclusively designed for iPhone and iPod touch with software version 2.0 or later. Also use the new Remote application for iPhone or iPod touch to control iTunes playback from anywhere in your home -- a free download from the App Store

    This means I can be sitting poolside, pull out my phone and change the song we are listening too... Now that's BADASS... time to impress some friends.
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #2
    At what point did this say "apple tv"?

    :)


    It's for itunes not apple TV.

    Tim
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Fontenette Yo!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #3
    In the future it maybe out for Apple TV but as far as the announcement goes its just for Itunes.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #4
    well if you are using airtunes with your apple tv streaming from iTunes it would work great
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    where is this quote(?) from?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    sandman42

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    That's right, the :apple:TV can be specified as a destination for music from within iTunes, just like we've been able to do with the Airport Express all along. This function was added to the :apple:TV with the Take 2 software release. iTunes on your computer can 'push' songs to the :apple:TV, which is a different mode of operation than using the :apple:TV to 'pull' songs from the iTunes library, which it can also do.

    For no good reason I doubt that the iPhone Remote app will allow you to reconfigure output sources (speakers, AExp, :apple:TV) in iTunes once you've specified them at your computer, but it might. Regardless you'd definitely be able to use the Remote app to change what song was playing on your :apple:TV if the music was streaming from your computer via Airtunes. This has the potential to be pretty cool!
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    remote buddy allows you to do this already (and a lot more) for anyone impatient they have a free trial.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    mrrory

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom of America
    #8
    I really hope this software does include Apple TV, I'm getting really sick of entering text with the standard remote.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #9
    I tried to push to my :apple:TV the other day, but I fail to see in the menu where this is a choice? I did select :apple:TV in iTunes. What am I missing? :eek:
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #10
    Would be nice if they'd tie this functionality to the AppleTV in some way, but looks completely limited to iTunes at this point.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Tom Sawyer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #11
    What I really wish I could do is stream FROM my iPhone to my Airtunes devices. Now that would be sweet! :)
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #12
    Yeah, Signal does too (I'll have to check out the latest Remote Buddy and compare). Signal also lets you choose output source (individually or multiple computers), forward song, back song, play/pause, select playlist, queue songs and set ratings. I think it's a pretty cool app. I'm looking forward to seeing how iControl compares.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    gcmexico

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #13
    *
    I was about to say the same thing...but I don't know if I would really want that function...my iphone would always have to be by the :apple:tv
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    sandman42

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #14
    All you have to do is have your :apple:TV on and connected to your network, and not playing any other content. When you select the :apple:TV as output in iTunes, and start your music playing, it should just start coming out of the :apple:TV. You don't have to do anything at the TV end, though naturally you have to have your TV or receiver (or whatever audio output device you have connected to your :apple:TV) on and connected to the :apple:TV.
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #15
    i think, i think i read of an app that can do this... im off to see if i can find somehting about it... or maybe i just misread the description of the app
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #16
    The answer is in. I'm running the app now and the iPhone remote app has full support for iTunes and/or the Apple TV
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Billy Boo Bob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Dark Side Of The Moon
    #17
    That's right. I've already set mine up (snuck in the 2.0 iPhone s/w). It's pretty cool, alright.

    Note: This is direct control of ATV, not just controlling iTunes using AirTunes. And you can see the items that are not synced (streaming from an open iTunes on your computer) right on the iPhone (for selecting, not for viewing).

    It's a nice start. Now if we could get it to see stuff that is not run through (or synced with) iTunes (like ATVFiles and NitoTV (if I can ever get it working on mine)).

    BTW... after a ATV s/w update, my basic patchstick for SSH and Perian seemed to work just fine.

    One thing I'd like to see to go hand in hand with this update is the ability to use the iPhone keyboard (or even the Mac/PC keyboard, for that matter) when "typing" into ATV... That stupid data entry psudo-keyboard thingie is just a PITA.

    (And, although a little Off-Topic for ATV, I'd like to be able to use an iPhone as an AirTunes portal, too. Sure you can sync your own stuff up easy enough, but it'd be cool for when visiting someone else).
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #18
    I updated my AppleTV and I downloaded the ninja version of 2.0 for my iPhone today.

    I downloaded and installed the Remote app and I'm easily able to control my iTunes library.

    In AppleTV under the remotes section the add a remote part is greyed out. Anyone figure out how to add an iPhone to the remote section?

    Totally off topic but iTunes 7.7 adds the blue dots next to movies that haven't been watched yet.
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #19
    It works quite well. The system is actually better than using the remote to browse content in my opinion and I can see a bright future for this application.

    My only complaints at the moment are the limited ability to browse content and the fact it wasn't done sooner. ;)
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Billy Boo Bob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Dark Side Of The Moon
    #20
    On your iPhone, have the Remote app running. Then, on your ATV, click the greyed out button (it may be non-greyed now that it has detected a remote app running). On the phone, hit Settings (within Remote.app), then "Add Library". Your iPhone Remote app will come up with a 4 digit number that you have to click in on the ATV (along with a "done" button).

    You may have to mess around with the order of things when you do this.

    You can have multiple devices in your iPhone app (iTunes + ATV, for instance), but the ATV will only link up with one remote app at a time, it appears.
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #21
    I have been able to cause my AppleTV to crash around 4 times while using the remote application so it might not be entirely stable yet.

    Note: The remote application did not crash. This was the AppleTV itself.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #22
    Could someone post a video of it on youtube, please? Preferably when it is working.
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Billy Boo Bob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Dark Side Of The Moon
    #23
    Yeah. Mine did a couple of times, too. Not exactly sure if there's a certain given trigger for it or not. I'll certainly report the bug to Apple as soon as I can come up with a formula to reproduce it.
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #24
  25. macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #25
    I just watched that video and I can't wait to get my iPhone. One question that popped in my head. If you are using the iPhone as your remote, what happens when you get a phone call? Does it pause the music or movie? I mean, you have to get out of that remote application to answer the phone. Anyone have any first hand experience with that? Thanks.
     

Share This Page