iphone on cricket?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by FearNo1, Mar 22, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #1
    Is it possible that an unlocked iphone 3g can work on cricket's network? cricket plans are very affordable, e.g. unlimited voice, text, data for $50 per month. I talked to the cricket sales rep. They indicated that the voice, text will work but the 3g data may be crippled some. Any assistance would be great. TIA
     
  2. macrumors regular

    TexanMan05

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #2
    As long as Cricket has a SIM card then I'm sure an unlocked iPhone would work just like it would on any other network. Like the rep said, 3G may not be there all the time but everything else should work fine.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #3
    Cricket is CDMA. You won't be able to use any GSM phone on that, including the iPhone.

    From their web site: "Transferring Service to Cricket®
    If I transfer my wireless number to Cricket®, can I use the cell phone I already have?

    You must have a Cricket® phone in order to use Cricket® service. Cricket® service uses a digital network that operates on Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) technology."
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #4
    Cricket is pretty picky on phones...
    I Don't want to unlock my phone but i do want to use a different network because at&t is terrible.
     
  5. macrumors 604

    jmann

    #5
    You can use an unlocked iPhone on T-Mobile. They are great. :D
     
  6. macrumors regular

    TexanMan05

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #6
    Well, there ya go. SO the answer is No.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    #7
    Help

    I am trying to do the same. Do you have any info on who or where I may speak with? please help.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #8
    That truly would be good news, but yah ... If it's CDMA then there's no chance it'll work with the iPhone.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Bloomington, Illinois
    #9
    Where is Cricket offered? Funny name for a telecommunication company.
     
  10. macrumors 604

    jmann

    #10
    I live in Utah, and it is offered here.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    nick1516

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #11
    Ya but i'm looking at their coverage chart and it looks like theres only a couple of spots with 3g, is this not true?
     
  12. macrumors 604

    jmann

    #12
    It's doesn't matter, because T-Mobile's 3G network isn't compatible with the iPhone anyway. All you can get is edge.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #13
    Also offered in Western PA.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #14
    We have them here in Chicago also, and so far never heard anything good about them.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #15
    Are they building out their own network? Or are they some kind of MVNO, leasing space from verizon or sprint?
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #16
    Leap/Cricket has been around since 1999. It is very similar to MetroPCS in its business model. I had service with it in 2003-2005 when I lived in areas that it served. For what it claims to offer, it is a good service. It is especially good for someone who stays in town and just needs a basic phone. It has been steadily growing since its inception. It emerged from bankruptcy a few years ago and seems to be doing OK.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cricket_Communications
    www.mycricket.com

    AN iPHONE CAN NOT BE USED ON CRICKET OR ANY OTHER NON-GSM PROVIDER.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #17
    cricket service

    That is not true I have a verizon sprint smartphone that I had flashed over to cricket and it works just fine. All of my functions work perfectly. I've had it for two years now and have never had a problem with it and I don't use a card.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #18
    Also offered in eastern PA. Philadelphia area.
     
  19. Helixthree, Jun 10, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #19
    CDMA Verizon flashed for Cricket

    I recently bought a clean esn Verizon iphone 16g off craigslist. It was already jeilbroken on firmware 4.2.8 by the previous owner. I then used SSH to locate the VZW310.PRL file on the iphone and replace it with a cricket prl file that was renamed VZW310.PRL.

    I then had to access the carrier.plist file and change a binary variable... reboot the phone, change the variable back, reboot the phone and then afterwards upon dialing *228 instead of Verizon's over the air activation greeting i receive the 'welcome to cricket activation greeting'

    I currently use a Sprint HTC Evo 4G on a Sprint contract with 4g. I am intrigued by the idea of a cheap cricket iPhone. I have read that so far it only works on talk and text. A friend is going to give me a real cricket phone to activate a service plan on, before i switch the iPhone to it later this week.

    Has anyone else done this... or gotten this far?

    As i understand it after i associate it to a cricket account i should be able to receive calls and SMS only... data when connected to wifi...

    I am located in Portland OR... and will be trying it on a plan soon. As i understand it i can get a talk/text unlimited plan for $25 a month and pay my bill in cash with no credit check or commitment.

    http://theiphonewiki.com/wiki/index...oning_iPhone_4_using_file_system_(Incomplete)
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    #20
    I see a lady on the bus with a phone that was clearly labeled cricket. It was an iphone four that much I am certain. It was also not a droid incredable nor is their any phones on cricket that look that much like an iphone
     
  21. macrumors 604

    jmann

    #21
    That's because Verizon is CDMA too...
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    Drag'nGT

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Holly Springs, NC
    #22
    I don't think they're getting it.
     
  23. Gib
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    #23
    iPhone's are not allowed to be labelled by their carrier partners (http://www.macrumors.com/2011/01/12...inside-the-apple-verizon-iphone-negotiations/), so I doubt it would be labelled by a company Apple has no affiliation with... It was not an iPhone.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Albuquerque NM
    #24
    Cricket

    The Verizon ( CDMA ) version of the iPhone 4 can definitely be unlocked and programmed to work on Cricket. You either have to have the expertise to do it yourself or find a Cricket dealer that will do it for you ( for a fee ).

    Cricket is a very good budget carrier and both owns their own network and piggy backs on other CDMA carriers, so they do offer nationwide coverage.

    Read about them at:

    www.mycricket.com
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #25
    iphone on cricket

    you were able to use your verizon phone on cricket because it is a gsm carrier...no sim cards...at&t has sim cards as well as tmobile...those phones apparently cant be unlocked to use with a non sim card carrier.
     

Share This Page