iPhone on Red Pocket Mobile

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by psnARMEDps3, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    psnARMEDps3

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #1
    I know a lot of people who use an AT&T mvno on their iPhone. But recently, h2o went down the drain, downgrading their $60 plan to only 1GB of data a month. I switched to Red Pocket which has 2GB data/month (along with unlimited talk&txt) for $60. I ported my number from h2o to red pocket and I'm very satisfied with the service. No unlock needed :). Very affordable + you get that AT&T 3G. Heres a quick video I make talking more about it and showing a speed test:





    Do you use an AT&T MVNO on your iPhone?
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    rmhop81

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    #2
    We use h20 and it's been fine. Bummer about the 1gb plan now but what do you do. I use the $50 plan and wife on the $60 plan. I couldn't handle seeing red pocket as the carrier name lol. Man that is too long haha
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    psnARMEDps3

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #3
    lol I hate that also. But since I'm jailbroken, I use a cydia tweak like clean status or springtomize to hide the carrier name. Looks cool like in the apple commercials:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #4
    How do you like Red Pocket? Good coverage? My AT&T bill is pretty much killing me every month.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    psnARMEDps3

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #5
    I love it. Great coverage wherever you get AT&T. I compared it to a friend who has At&t and we had same strength. Definitely recommended, because truthfully I wouldn't be able to pay the AT&T unlimited talk text and 2gb data every month.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    dtbratt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    #6
    Where can you purchase Red Pocket Sims? Are they MicroSIMs?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Is the chip on the red pocket sims easy to cut down with a sim cutter? I've come across sim cards in the past that don't fit in the sim cutters. The one with the globe shaped chips normally.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    psnARMEDps3

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #8
    I bought my Red Pocket SIM on Amazon for around $3. I couldn't find a microsim version, so I used my micro sim adapter (hole puncher like thing) to cut it down. Those are pretty cheap also, but can be done with scissors.

    The one I bought on amazon are easy to cut. Fit in the cutter with no problem.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    dtbratt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    #9
    With me being in Canada. Can I activate the SIM online?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    psnARMEDps3

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #10
    Sorry, but Red Pocket is an AT&T mvno. Up there, there is no AT&T, so you can't use Red Pocket
     
  11. wordoflife, Jan 15, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2012

    macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #11
    That is really nice. I believe AT&T MNVOs have a little less coverage and speed, but I'd totally give that up for a cheaper bill.

    I think i'll stick with AT&T though since i think its cheaper than buying a device at full price.


    Haha the loading circle is all the way near the battery. loooks funny :D
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    psnARMEDps3

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #12
    Thats what I thought at first but look at these speed tests I took earlier today. (On two of them, I used Springtomize to hide the long 'Red Pocket' carrier name in the status bar.)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. macrumors 6502

    dtbratt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    #13
    I know. It will be for when I travel to the US.
     
  14. wordoflife, Jan 15, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2012

    macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #14
    Not sure where you're located, but here in south florida, this is what I average. Mine are pretty consistent.
    [​IMG]

    So if you're in South florida and you're getting that ... that is very good.

    Edit just took one more
    [​IMG]

    I'd say that you have it pretty good with red pocket. my AT&T 3G speeds arent any much faster.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    psnARMEDps3

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #15
    Well if you are going to use it in the US, then yes. You activate it on their website. But just in case, you might want to wait to activate the sim here.

    ----------

    Yup. I was near Ft. Lauderdale when I took those. Overall, I'm very satisfied with the service. Way better than paying 100$ + for almost the same coverage.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #16
    WOW. SO it doesn't seem as though there is much throttling at all then?
     
  17. thread starter macrumors newbie

    psnARMEDps3

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #17
    I know! Pretty crazy.
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
  19. reclusive46, Jan 16, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012

    macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #19
    How is the coverage compared to AT&T's contract network? Especially 3G coverage. Has anyone got this working on an iPhone 4S?
     
  20. thread starter macrumors newbie

    psnARMEDps3

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #20
    I haven't tried on a 4S. I know it will work on 4G, but don't know if it will get the 4G speeds.

    I compared the coverage to many friends of mine at various locations, and saw that we had same number of bars and 3G. Even speed tests were nearly identical. Red Pocket will work on an At&t iPhone 4s (or unlocked verizon/sprint iPhone 4s), although still trying to see if you get the hspa+ speeds with it.
     
  21. reclusive46, Jan 16, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012

    macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #21
    I was reading another forum that the MMS settings on the iPhone will make a difference with AT&T MVNO speeds. Can you do a speed test with the MMS settings correct and then one with the wrong mms settings (Obviously leave correct APN otherwise data won't work at all) and see if it makes any difference?
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    miss.manson

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    Georgia
    #22
    Here is my review of H20 for any of you wondering about them: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1309280

    I'm actually looking into Red Pocket but unsure about the reliability of them since their "terms of service" are identical to H20's. I really don't want too be cut off again for "texting to much".
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #23
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Wait, how will it work on an unlocked Vzw or sprint 4S?

    Can anyone confirm this? I have a unlocked Verizon 4S and although I've only tried once, and it was before my restore after the unlock had been issued, i still don't see it working.

    Note I didn't use a red pocket sim, only a hand cut sim from family mobile. Will have to try again.
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #24
    If I don't care about MMS settings and my APN settings are blocked, can I just install the data apn at http://www.unlockit.co.nz/unlockit/ without jailbreaking? Will that work?
     
  25. thread starter macrumors newbie

    psnARMEDps3

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #25
    Well the speed tests I posted above were with MMS settings correct and they had same speed as normal At&t iPhone. I'll try it without correct MMS settings soon but doubt it will make a difference.

    The "terms of service" are probably given to them by att. I am a former h2o customer and Im more satisfied with red pocket. When you call customer service, you wait 5mins-10mins unlike h2o's 20 mins minimum. Although I have never been cut off with texting to much, Im sure you'll be fine with red pocket compared to h2o.

    If your Verizon or Sprint phone is factory unlocked (not just unlocked for global traveling), then this will work. My friend is actually canceling his Sprint contract (Slow speeds) on his 4s soon and switching to red pocket after he discovered that his sprint iPhone 4s came factory unlocked.

    If you don't want MMS, that method will work to allow the use of data.
     

Share This Page