iPhone Passcode Lock doesn't work

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Jeffrosproto, Nov 1, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #1
    A few weeks ago, I decided it would be a good idea to enable the passcode lock on my iPhone in case it gets lost. However, I can't get the passcode to take correctly. Here are the steps I take:

    1. Go to settings>general>passcode lock
    2. Enter in a new passcode (0000, for example).
    3. Try changing the passcode.
    4. The change passcode screen appears, however, it does not take my passcode (0000). It will start to count the failed passcode attempts at the bottom of the screen. (the same thing happens when I try using the "Turn passcode off" setting.)
    5. If I hit home/power, it does not prompt for the newly created passcode (0000) at the slide to unlock screen.
    6. If I hit the back button in the passcode screen or go to settings>general, passcode lock is set to "off," no matter what I do.

    Does anyone have any ideas? I've already tried to reset the settings, to no avail. I will eventually restore my phone, but I don't really want to if there is an alternative.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #2
    This does not seem right to me.

    If you do not have a passcode set, and you go to the Passcode settings, you then have to enter the same passcode twice. And that's it. Don't change the passcode after that, just follow on with the "Require Passcode" settings for how long to wait before you have to use the code.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #3
    The passcode is set to be required immediately. However, when I leave that settings screen, it automatically goes back to "off". I'll make a video of it later, if that would clear it up.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #4
    What happens if you try 1 minute instead of immediately?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #5
    I set it for 1 minute, however it still says that the passcode is "off" when I go back to the general settings screen.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #6
    I just did everything you did on my iPod touch. Nothing. I followed what you did step by step. Maybe try restoring?
     

Share This Page