iPhone service in Japan: Softbank (rumor)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kashimo, Jan 17, 2007.

  1. kashimo macrumors member

    kashimo

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #1
    Softbank CEO mum on iPhone debut in Japan

     
  2. wako macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #2
    thats odd... i thought most Japanese were on GSM networks, just like Cingular.
     
  3. kashimo thread starter macrumors member

    kashimo

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #3
    Network of Japanese Mobile Providers
    Softbank: 3G 2100
    NTT DoCoMo: 3G 2100
    AU/KDDI: 3G CDMA 2000

    I believe we still support GSM. I have had people from the US use their phones here. I can use my 3G in the US. When I arrive I turn it on and it switches to GSm and looks for a global partner.
     
  4. plasticparadox macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    #4
    Softbank is garbage. Their coverage is confined to outdoors for the most part and half the time the e-mails never come through properly, even worse when you send between networks. Also, their customer service is abysmal.

    It would be a mistake for Apple to bring the iPhone to Softbank, because people would blame Apple for Softbank's shortcomings and tarnish Apple's image in Japan.

    Apple should partner with au, their design style is similar to Apple's.
     
  5. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #5
  6. Koodauw macrumors 68040

    Koodauw

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Madison
    #6
    Doesn't 3G simply stand for 3rd Generation? And the 2100 the frequency or band that it runs on?

    However, this doesn't say if it is CDMA or GSM technology (or perhaps some other technology) I thought most of Asia used CDMA, but I might be wrong. Can someone help clear this up for me?
     
  7. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #7
    GSM coverage in Japan

    CDMA coverage

    (this chart is weird, Docomo & Vodafone have wCDMA [ ed: ok, just names out of sync with acquisitions ] )

    There is also an older service called PDC, a TDMA variant specific to Japan, probably not relevant to the iPhone business.
     
  8. kashimo thread starter macrumors member

    kashimo

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    But would AU give up their Listmo music service for iTunes? They are very stylish and are the number 2 provider.

    Softbank is still getting on its feet. They will get better I hope. (I went from J-phone to Vodafone to Softbank....not sure who it will be next year.) I bet Son will do anything to get the iPhone on its network. (Maybe next year J-phone/Vodafone/Softbank will be just known as Apple Phone.)

    I hope Apple doesn't go with DoCoMo. They are too pricey. But they have the best coverage in Japan and best relations overseas. They do have a good market.
     
  9. asxtb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    #9
    I figured it would be DoCoMo. I hope the iPhone does go to Softbank. But I probably still won't buy it unless it is a 2nd or 3rd version.

    I find it just the opposite. I've had all three services and I think Vodafone/Softbank is the best. DoCoMo was by far the worst. Talk about never getting reception or email going through. I'll never do DoCoMo again.
     
  10. DJ OJ macrumors regular

    DJ OJ

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Japan>Shibuya>My House. Unbelievable Ain't it!?
    #10
    I don't know much, but I think softbank would be a great choice. Softbank has been great for me, from what I know they don't have a music thingy (AU does) and I just don't like NTT Docomo (though there is one really nice phone...) THe iPhone really needs to get some extra features though to be good here, like video calling, mobile tv, that yahoo keitai app, gps, that kind of stuff...
     
  11. makku macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    #11
    If Japanese carrier would to get an iPhone it would probably be Softbank.
    NTT has always been a Japanese style company and probably know partners like Sony would not want Apple trying to get their share. Somehow, I also think Apple will not be putting in imode on their phone.
    Au has the LISMO when they invested pretty good amount of money so unless Apple supports it it is out of question.
    Softbank's Son has been know to be talking to Steve Jobs and he probably can offer the best deal to Apple in regards to profit per phone sold. But then again Softbank does not have a large share in the market and their reception and customer service is poor so its a hard decision.

    If iPhone does come to Softbank I hope they support the emoji. [​IMG] <- this is the only reason that I have not stopped using Softbank from J-Phone days.:p
     
  12. Shaduu macrumors 6502a

    Shaduu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Southsea
    #12
    I swear Japan has more GSM coverage than Softbank are letting on. I bought my phone (Nokia E61) specifically so I'd be able to use it while in the UK, Spain and Japan.
     
  13. josepho macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    #13
    Yes, you may very well have bought your E61 to use in Europe and Japan, and it would work in all of these places, whether the latter had GSM coverage or not. The E61 is, of course, a 3G compatible handset (which in Europe denotes 2100Mhz wCDMA technology) so would be able to roam in Japan (although in 3G, rather than 2G, mode) without the assistance of good old GSM.
     
  14. Shaduu macrumors 6502a

    Shaduu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Southsea
    #14
    Ah, thanks for that. :D
     

Share This Page