iPad iPhone SIM confirmed to work in iPad with modification/settings change...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by HXGuy, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #1
    http://modmyi.com/forums/ipad-news/708414-mod-t-sim-work-ipad-3g.html

    Once you cut your iPhone SIM (by tracing the size of the iPad microSIM), you have to go into Settings->Cellular Data->APN Settings and change the APN to phone (instead of broadband as is the default)

    It apparently fits back together like a puzzle piece so you can put it back into your iPhone without a problem. Pretty slick.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. macrumors 603

    troop231

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #3
    How awesome would it be if they could get this thing to make/receive phone calls and be able to use a Bluetooth earphone with it? That would rock! :D
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    HelveticaNeue

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #4
    Thank you, sir for posting this link. You have helped answer one of the greatest questions which has lingered since the iPad was announced. Now, we just need confirmation (through the use of a T-mobile since to access EDGE) that the iPad is 100%, Absolutely, whole-heartedly unlocked ... utterly.

    It's not that I don't trust Steve ... but he is sometimes carefully with how things are said and I see places where he could use loopholes.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Location:
    San Jose
    #5

    that will happen soon....

    would be awesome if MagicJack would make an app. :)

    hopefully the sims won't get married through sw.
     
  6. macrumors G4

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #6
    OK, but now that your iPhone SIM is cut down how do you use your iPhone? What am I missing here?
     
  7. macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #7
    This potentially great news for those of us that are waiting for the iPhone 4G!

    Unless like some are suggesting that Apple or AT&T may lock the iPhone microSim or this work around out at some point....
     
  8. macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #8
    You put it back into the space you cut out and put the whole business back into the iPhone.

    Personally I just ordered the microSIM adapter and I'm going to go to the AT&T store to pick up a new SIM card; then I'll change the SIM card on my iPhone to the microSIM and use the adapter.

    Of course the only reason for this is because the unlimited international data plan on the iPhone is only $65 and it's like $200 for 200MB for the iPad.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    SI, NY
    #9
    so say i do this, when i put the sim back in my iphone do i have to go change settings again?
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #10
    Makes me wonder if I can use my iPad sim in my iPhone this would be real cheap for a phone plan. I have an extra sim card il report back after I do a little magic with my exacto knife.
     
  11. macrumors member

    marcovortex

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #11
    Rogers sim works as well..

    Also want to confirm that I got my Rogers sim card to work in the iPad no problem after being cut to the right size. So any Canadians wondering if there sims will work, the answer is yes..
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    ovrlrd

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #12
    Sounds dangerous, if you try putting the cut apart Micro-SIM (but pieced back togethter to make it a regular SIM) in the iPhone after, you risk getting the SIM card stuck in the slot. I am certain Apple/AT&T would not appreciate your warranty request either.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #13
    Ok that's ten minutes of my life I'll never get back. It didn't work.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #14
    Tape it on to the sim. Live a little ;)
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    #15
    You can. Link. But you'll never be able to make "regular" calls in an iPad because there's no cell radio built into them.

    BTW, a better/cheaper solution would be to cancel your iPhone plan, get the $30 iPad data plan & use the iPad's micro-SIM in an adapter like this in your iPhone. Then switch back & forth when needed.

    You could get your calls through a SIP application on both devices.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    #16
    Forgive me if this is really obvious, but what is the benefit of cutting down your sim to become a mini sim ?. What does this get you that you couldn't have other ways
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    #17
    The iPad uses a micro sim, so you cut your iPhone sim to fit the iPad and can use that instead of paying for another data plan.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #18
    I may be wrong but isn't the 3G chip basically "cell radio"? I'm thinking the only thing stopping the iPad from making calls is lack of the actual phone app. That is if you use your cut iPhone's sim card in it and not the built in sim card/plan.
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    ob81

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #19
    Are you talking data? The prices for data are the same. That $200 you speak of.
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #20
    A skype subsciption costs about the same as magic jack, and skype works well on iPad.
     
  21. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #21
    Does anyone have a tempate of exactly where to cut a regular sim to convert it to a microsim?

    I'm planning to do this with my Virgin Media 3G dongle which costs £5 per month for 1Gb for customers.
     
  22. macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #22
    I'm slow today. So basically someone has figured out how to circumvent paying for a second data plan? If I understand this correctly then maybe in due time I'll sell my wifi model and grab a 3G model.
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #23
    You are 100% correct....
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    #24
    I tried putting the iPad sim inside a 2G and 3G iPhone - neither worked had no way to change the APN to broadband - I was able to put it into a MiFi with no problems
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #25
    iPhone is LOCKED device and the only way to enable the "APN Settings" to show on there is to jailbreak the phone + Unlock it... iPad is unlocked from factory...

    CMIIW :)
     

Share This Page