iPhone sync not working

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by joeblogg, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    Hi,

    Today I purchased a second-hand iPhone 3G 16GB. I already had an iPod Touch and had many songs and apps on my iTunes.

    Anyway, I plug my iPhone in and firstly try to restore it which doesn't work. Then I try and sync it which "works" but none of my existing apps and songs (which I had on my iPod touch) copied over.

    In the "devices" section of my iTunes my iPhone is listed and underneath where it says the name of my iPhone there are three subsections "Music", "Movies" & "TV Shows" but no "Apps" listing. Due to there being a "Music" subsection in the devices section I was able to manually copy my songs from the "Music" subsection of the "Library" section. But because there is no "Apps" subsection in "Devices" I can't copy my apps manually like I did with my songs.

    Sorry about my post being long but hopefully someone can help. Most of my apps were free so I can download them again but I am not so keen on the hastle of doing all of that.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #2

    Put the iPhone in DFU mode and restore. Should fix your issues.
     
  3. joeblogg, Nov 19, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2010

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    I just did that but I still get the same error message. When I put my iPhone into DFU mode the Apple logo briefly appeared - does that mean it didn't properly enter DFU mode? I watched a video online showing you how to put your iPhone into DFU mode and the screen stayed blank for the whole time.

    Here is the error message I always get when I try and restore my iPhone (with or without DFU mode).

    [​IMG]
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    Does anyone know if the problem will be fixed when Apple releases it's next iPhone operating software and I update it on my iPhone?

    Or will I just have to live with the fact that I can't restore my iPhone?
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #5
    As for the syncing issue you just click on the name of your iphone under devices and that will take you to the summary page . If you look further up on the page you will see the tabs summary/info/apps/ ect. You would just click on the apps tab, choose the option to sync apps and choose the apps u wanna sync.

    As for other issue. Why are you trying to restore?

    As for connection issue, that has nothing to do with the iphone. Disable any anti-virus/firewalls u have running. Reset modem/router. Try bypassing router completely and connect to modem driectly. Uninstall/reinstall itunes. Try other pc. Try someone elses pc with a different internet connection. Go to an apple store. Freak out. Die.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    Thanks, I've now successfully been able to sync my apps onto my iPhone.

    I'm trying to restore my iPhone because I bought it second-hand and jailbroken. I would like my iPhone to not be jailbroken.

    I'm not sure why I'm not able to restore my iPhone or upgrade the operating software. I upgraded my operating software on my iPod Touch numerous months ago with the same PC and the same iTunes (I never uninstalled and reinstalled iTunes) but now I'm not able to upgrade the iOS on both my iPod Touch and my iPhone so it must be a problem with my iTunes or something. Just not sure why it's not working now.

    Will reinstalling my iTunes delete my library? I know I can just sync the reinstalled version of iTunes with my iPhone anyway.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    #7
    Unlock iPhone

    You must contact to the officials of iphone appliances or directly go to the Show room or service center and remember one thing warranty voids if you try to open it so never do such thing.
     
  8. macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #8
    Uh, yeah.:eek:
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    The error that you posted is one that is generally received if there is a problem with Windows security software. Anti-virus and firewall software will interfere with the connection if it takes too much time and will result in that timeout.

    If you are using a Windows computer, disable the firewall, anti-virus and any other security software (i.e. anti-malware, etc.) that you are using and try again.

    See if that helps. One other issue that I have seen on another site is that a security software called Kaspersky will really interfere with downloads of Apple software and it needs to be disabled to accomplish it.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #10
    Interesting that, thanks CSMchris376. I currently have Kaspersky on my computer. I will try and restore my iPhone with Kaspersky removed from my computer.
     

Share This Page