iPhone Wont Load!! - I BADLY NEED HELP!!!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by stvejonesiguy, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I updated my iphone version. 1.0.2 to a 1.1.1 and attempted a jailbreak.... my phone entered revovery mode then then loaded as normal but now it begins to load then the little loading icon appears at the bottom the who screen flashes then the phone restarts and does the same process over and over again... untill you hold the power + home button it turns off completely...

    I would like to know if it is possible to either:

    Load the phone in recovery mode once more and atempt to restore it then boot as normal later.

    OR

    If i should leave it to drain the battery then place it on charge to see what happens?

    OR

    Any other useful suggestion would be welcome

    Steve

    I really do need this help as I have a presentation to give on iphone to the company I work for, and my main point was its UI and Usability which ovbiously i cannot give unless i can get this working by friday...
     
  2. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Restore it back to 1.1.1 using iTunes. That should erase and restore any error or mistake the iPhone commited while updating.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #3
    Seems to be going ok

    Hey...

    I tried doing a restore through itunes and to no luck "unknown error(1)"
    however i tried ibrickr and asked it to downgrade my firmware back to 1.0.2... at least ill know it will be in a good working state - how wrong could I be... it seems its downgrade but the flashing and not starting issue is still here : ( - I dont want to jynx myself but could this mean my phone may well be Br*cked??

    Steve

    btw thank you for replying so quickly ;)
     
  4. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Ok first of all, you are not supposed to downgrade back to 1.0.2.

    Here are some simple steps to follow:

    1. Restart your Computer and if possible your iPhone

    2. Connect iPhone to iTunes.

    3. Restore using iTunes back to 1.1.1.

    4. That should about do it.

    == If trouble still spurs just post and I'll give more help ==

    iPhone modding is not for the faint of heart
    :apple:iPhone 8GB - $399
    :apple:Mac Book Pro - $2199
    :apple:iPod 4th G - $299
    :apple:No more fatal error or blue screen of Death - Priceless
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #5
    All Is Well - Ish

    HI,

    So my screen problem is gone now, my phone will boot in 1.0.2 however i want to be on at least version 1.1.1 - as anything decent for iPhone you will need that firmware at least or the most up to date... so is it now ok for me to upgrade to 1.1.1 and then possbily to 1.1.2 as i know that in order to get to a jail broken 1.1.2 a method needs you to have installed OkToPrep on 1.1.1 before hand... the main thing is the phone is working... surely?

    Steve
     
  6. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Ok, if you want to go to 1.1.1 just update using the 1.1.1.ipsw. Then in 1.1.1 just go in your iPhone to www.jailbreakme.com. Follow instructios in that page and off you go to a 1.1.1 jailbroken phone.

    iPhone modding is not for the faint of heart
    :apple:iPhone 8GB - $399
    :apple:Mac Book Pro - $2199
    :apple:iPod 4th G - $299
    :apple:No more fatal error or blue screen of Death - Priceless
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #7
    I went to 1.1.2 and wish I had stayed at 1.1.1 but now I can't go back with AT&T activated SIM.
     
  8. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    Well you can use the baseband downgrade method provided by iunlock.no guys. Don't know their exact website but hey! Google is your friend!
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #9
    You can use anysim 1.2.1u to unlock 1.1.2 if you have the old botloader (if your phone was originaly shipped with a 1.1.1 or less firmware you are lucky)

    First you have to run Oktoprep while in 1.1.1
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #10
    Help... Again...

    Ok so my phoen now works, however it will not unlock through anySIM. it says firmware already patched but the phone wont accept he SIM card, so i was wondering if it is indeed possible to solve this.

    specs:

    Version: 1.0.2 (1C28)
    Model: MA712
    Modem Firmware: 04.02.13_G

    ----------------------------------------

    So any help wud be welcome.. ;P

    Steve
     
  11. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    Ok first of all, you no longer have 1.0.2 installed as your firmware in your iPhone. Your firmware is now 1.1.1, hence the Modem Firmware being 04.02.13_G. For it to be a true 1.0.2 it has to say 03.14.08_G.

    So what you have to do now is update back to 1.1.1 but in a carefull way. You have to Virginize your iPhone's BaseBand then update.

    Once that is done you should have a fully working 1.1.1
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #12
    Ok... my phone does say its a 1.0.2 though... and it doesn't look like the 1.1.1
    however i am willing to trust your help, but how do I verginize my phone because i understand this requires wi-fi which i have, its just my phone isnt too keen on connecting to it and hence i cant tell the software its ip address. I would of used iDemocracy for this... please advise of a better way.

    Steve
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #13
    As I understood it I have to restore to 1.0.2 to even use anySim. I restored to 1.1.1 got error 1614 then restored to 1.0.2 and immediately got error (1) and my phone goes into DFU mode I was able only to restore back to 1.1.2 to get it working. I have a June 29 iPhone.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #14
    Frustration

    The most annoying thing is my modem version, i am pretty confident it shouldnt be this, no matter how many times i restore or whatever when using anysim it will always say the firmware is patched and it will exit but the phone itself is not accepting the sim, so this makes me wonder if my phone is bricked... however the phone is in working order ie it will activate but wont take the sim cards... so i dont know what to do or if this can be solved... i would like to know how to downgrade the modem version (baseband) because i know this was fine before i updated orginally...:mad:
     
  15. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #15
    Here a set of instructions for you are found in this website:

    http://iphone.unlock.no/

    However you have to read to see which guide is most useful to you. Trace back your steps and judge which guide is the one you need. This is a *VERY* trusted source.
     

Share This Page