iPhone won't send SMS, only iMessage

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by KatAMac, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    My iPhone won't send sms messages at all - yes, I have credit - but it will send iMessages if I go into settings and take off wireless, so it's only 3G.

    It's an iPhone 3. Everything worked fine until a few weeks ago. I had been overseas, where I had another number put into my phone - still the same sim, not sure how they did it, but I had a local number. I then returned to Australia, and upgraded to 6.0.1. So I'm not sure if it is the software upgrade, the other number or something else.

    I can phone, receive calls, receive texts, receive emails, access the internet through apps. Everything else seems to be working fine. I can't send txt messages at all. I can send iMessages if I switch off wireless in settings.

    Please help! Thank you
     
  2. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #2
    Same SIM difference#? Whoops doesn't sound legit. You can always go to your home carrier and complain to them and can they give you another SIM. Don't tell them your overseas experience.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #3
    If they won't help you, try switching off the 3G service
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    MN, USA
    #4
    More often than not it is a problem with your APN settings. Check the documentation settings or visit your wireless company retail shop to have them help you.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Went to the phone company, but they can't help at all. Have switched off 3G, but still doesn't send txts. Have also just done a restore to factory settings - and again, it hasn't helped.
    thanks for suggestions
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Finally resolved problem - it must have been a faulty sim. I got a new sim from the provider, ported my number across, and everying is working again. :D
    Thanks for the suggestions
     

Share This Page