iphone4 - Caller Cannot hear me

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by aerove, Nov 18, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    aerove

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta,GA
    #1
    Hey all,

    I've been having a wierd issue with my iphone for the last few weeks, when i call someone or when i get a call, sometimes the person on the other side of the line cannot hear me, I can still hear clearly and they cannot hear me no matter what i do, plugging in headphones doesnt help nor the speakerphone. I tried to reset the phone but it doesn't work. However if i make the call on skype it works fine. This issue is veryyyy frustruating as i have interviews lined up and do not want this peice of junk to ruin it.. any one with the same issues and any solutions ? :(:(:(:(
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #2
    Same thing happened to me, I took it to the apple store and they tested it, gave me a new phone on the spot. I could facetime, I could make recorded messages, just could not talk to someone directly. New phone works great, no problems.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    aerove

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta,GA
    #3
    did the same issue happen in store too ?
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #4
    Same thing happened to me. Could only hear me using speaker phone. More than likely your mic is screwed and you need a new iphone. Go to an apple store and get a new one.
     
  5. macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #5
    I'm on my 3rd iPhone (same mic issue) since July, and still no fix for me. I got tired of going to the Genius Bar so I just live with it. It doesn't happen frequently, but when it does it only last a few seconds and it is rather annoying.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    aerove

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta,GA
    #6
    LOL .. the one acting up is my SIXTH replacement.,, don't bother to ask how i ended up replacing them so many times :mad::mad::mad: now i wish i can get out of the contract and switch phones and network at the same time.. i'm just sick and tired of this s*it
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    smithrh

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    #7
    One-way audio is almost always a network issue.

    I'd complain to your carrier.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #8
    Luckily yes. The Apple guy called one of his co-workers and he could not hear him. I was in and out with a new phone in 5 minutes.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #9
    My wife and I both used to have this problem all the time with our iPhone 4s on AT&T. It all of a sudden stopped right around the time we upgraded to iOS 4.1. Could be a coincidence, but I haven't had it happen in months. Maybe AT&T fixed something on their end.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    aerove

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta,GA
    #10
    well i haven't had this issue till the last few weeks, and i dont think its a network issue cause none of my friends using other phones on At&t have it. its only with mine.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
    #11
    I have the same issue. It just started with my phone. I tried the headset, hard reset, reset all settings and the erase and reset and nothing. Looks like a 2 hours drive to the nearest Apple Store is happening in the morning:mad:
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    Same thing happened to me back in October, and the apple store replaced it. I had originally purchased the phone in July through the att online premier site.
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    smithrh

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    #13
    and I'll re-iterate what I said before, it is almost always a network problem.

    It's a well-known issue called one-way audio.

    Complain to your provider.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
    #14
    Nope, firmware problem on some and just had it replaced with some outstanding customer service.
     

Share This Page