iPhoto: after reinstallation, unable to edit photos

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Argelius, Nov 9, 2005.

  1. Argelius macrumors 6502

    Argelius

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    #1
    Here's my story. Being a Mac newbie, I didn't realize I should never, ever move any of the iLife apps from the root of the Applications folder. Anyway, I moved iPhoto and it stopped working. I tried moving it back, but it still was dead.

    Using Pacifist I was able to reinstall iPhoto from the restore disc that came with my Mac Mini. Curiously, I was unable to do this from the restore disc that came with my PowerBook; using Pacifist, iPhoto was not to be found; doing a "Reinstall bundled applications" directly from the disc, the error "this package is damaged and cannot be read" came up. (Apple is sending me a new disc).

    After launching iPhoto, the spinning do-dad spinned for HOURS while it searched for photos do add. I tried a "rebuild library" maneuver (by holding cmd+option while launching iPhoto), with the same, endless "Loading photos..." spinning thing.

    During this process I wiped clean and reinstalled Tiger on my Mac Mini and did a "Migration Assistant" as a back up of my PowerBook on the Mini. Curiously, after doing this, the iPhoto library on the Mac Mini worked without problems.

    I then copied the following files from the Mac Mini's iPhoto Library to the same location on the Powerbook (AlbumData.xml, dir.data, iphoto.db, iphotoi.pspot, iphoto.lockdata, Library.iphoto, thumb32.data, thumb64.data, thumbjpg.data).

    After doing this and relaunching iPhoto, the same spinning "Loading photos...". However, if I click on the "slideshow" icon the "Loading photos..." stops and the thumbnails/library shows up intact.

    Anybody still awake?

    I thought all was saved, but:
    [1] Every time I launch iPhoto, I have to click on 'slide show' to get thumbs to show up

    [2] If I right click on a photo in the library, "Edit""Edit in separate window", "Edit in an external editor" and rotate options are all grey-ed out. (Also, clicking on the "Edit" or rotate icons, have no effect.

    So, any ideas what's going on? (I've done the 'repair permissions' thing many times, as well as a Mac Janitor routine). I also checked to see that the iPhoto Library is set for me (the owner) to Read & Write.
     
  2. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #2
    repair permissions and if that don't work reinstall and reboot
     
  3. Argelius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Argelius

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    #3
    Thanks. Have tried all of that...to no avail. :(
     
  4. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #4
    go into system prefrences and add a new user , log in and check iphoto there -
    i bet it works
     
  5. Argelius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Argelius

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    #5
    An interesting idea. I tried that and when I logged in to the new account, the iPhoto icon on my Dock consisted of a folder with a red circle and "-" through it. When I clicked on it, it said "you cannot run that application because it may be damaged.

    I did a repair permission maneuver and then I tried doing a "Get Info" on the iPhoto.app and the permission said "no access".

    Clearly something is amiss! I guess I might have to wait until Apple sends my new restore disc to try to reinstall...unless anyone has some more ideas! :confused:
     
  6. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #6
    yep it looks that way :( you will have to wait for apple to send out a new restore cd - i would restore the OS as well just in case ! so start backing up files
     
  7. Argelius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Argelius

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    #7
    Thanks. Heavy sigh...

    (When you suggest reinstalling the OS, do you mean a complete wipe of the hard drive, or just a non-destructive reinstallation of the OS, with the extra insurance of files being backed up)?
     
  8. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #8
    i would wipe the whole things and start fresh , then put all your files back in
     
  9. Argelius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Argelius

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    #9
    Thanks. One final (hopefully!) question. Can that be done by doing a Migration Assistant from my Mac Mini to which I've already "backed up" my Powerbook?
     
  10. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #10
    think so , but i never do it that way - i just drag the whole MOVIE,MUSIC,PHOTO and DOCS to my external HDD and then back over onto a fresh install of the OS - i have too much GB's for DVD backups so External HDD's are a must for me anyway

    but .. i always back up in 2 locations ie another external HDD just in case
    ;)
     

Share This Page