iPhoto doesn't see video on Canon S400

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by yzedf, Jul 11, 2003.

  1. yzedf macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #1
    Has anyone had luck getting the videos off of a Canon PowerShot (friend has the S400) with iPhoto or anything else?

    According to my friend, she can't even see the videos through iPhoto, much less download them.

    I have seen that the S400 has pretty bad support for OS X from Canon (no surprise there)...

    Has anyone tried gphoto2 ? This is what I use in linux. I would rather not have her depending on me to get videos off her camera...

    Sorry for so many bad questions... I don't have the camera or her iBook in front of me.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. brogers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #2
    I have the S200 and iPhoto can not take the video off the camera. I don't use that feature of the camera that much because I have a digital camcorder, but when I have played with it, I used the Canon software that came with the camera to get the video on my computer. It is OS X software and works pretty good. I just prefer the iPhoto and iMovie. Hope this helps.

    Thanks
     
  3. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #3
    Re: iPhoto doesn't see video on Canon S400

    I think the Camera should mount when you plug it in.

    You should be able to drill down into the directories and pull the video file off of it - just drag/copy via finder.

    arn
     
  4. yzedf thread starter macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #4
    arn & brogers - thank you! i will give it a try tonight.
     
  5. mueng macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    Re: iPhoto doesn't see video on Canon S400

    I have that same camera. Did she install the Canon utilities that came with the camera? I use it to shoot video all the time. Then use the Image Browser to connect to the camera which allows you to download your movies.

    Hope that helps.
     
  6. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #6
    i got S230... i use image capture to get the .avi movies off the camera... once you run image capture and turn on the camera, choose "download some" and you can pick movies to download...

    at least on my camera, there are two modes of communicating with the camera. can't remember the names but with PCs, one mode allows transfer without drivers on XP and the other mode requires the driver to be installed. i am not sure if those modes make any difference for os x, but you may want to play with it...

    hope this helps.
     
  7. bwawn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    #7
    This is the solution I use with my S330. What you've heard about the S400 having poor support under OS X is pure garbage. iPhoto works flawlessly with the S400 from what I've seen.

    If you plug the camera in and then open up the Image Capture program in the Applications folder, and within there click on the "Dowload some..." button, you will be able to pick and choose the movies.

    I personally would advise against installing Canon's software, since it's just extra junk you don't need cluttering up your computer. Apple's included software (iPhoto and Image Capture) will do everything for you.

    Good luck.
     
  8. kishba macrumors 6502a

    kishba

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    the image capture program that came with mac os x will get your movies off.

    the camera, though, won't actually be mounted :( i wish. maybe the canon drivers let you do that (i've never had a reason to try installing them), but image capture seems to work well enough for me.

    i really wish iphoto would be updated soon. it needs much more speed. i've taken 4,900 photos with my canon s200 and iphoto takes too darned long to open.

    (i'd also like a better way to label/organize/export photos... i don't have any specific thoughts in mind... i just know iphoto just isn't good enough for me right now)
     
  9. yzedf thread starter macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #9
    Canon support under OS X. Canon does not make iPhoto. Not that I like iPhoto either for that matter... but I was talking about Canon before.

    I will let you guys know how it all works out. Could just be her... as I said, I have not done anything with it yet (never even seen the camera before).

    Thanks.
     
  10. kishba macrumors 6502a

    kishba

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    oh, i've been meaning to post a thread about this, but i keep forgetting.

    does anyone's canon s200 or s230 or s400 turn off while transferring photos? when i walk away while downloading ~120 photos i return finding that the transfer failed.

    i haven't used the canon software, only iphoto and image capture. does canon's software keep the camera on while it's transfering?
     
  11. yzedf thread starter macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #11
    My s200 does not do that. I use gphoto2 on linux. If there is no activity in transfer mode for a while it turns off...
     
  12. brogers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #12
    Have the S200 and never had that problem. My Dad has the S400 and he took a couple hundred pics in Hawaii and that did not happen to him either.
     
  13. yzedf thread starter macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #13
    Image Capture worked.

    Thanks all. You are awesome! :D
     
  14. kishba macrumors 6502a

    kishba

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    Michigan
    #14
    could my problem be caused by the memory card? i used a friends 256 mb card before and the photos were displayed quicker and were deleted quicker. my 128 mb was a freebie from amazon...

    any idea?
     
  15. yzedf thread starter macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #15
    No, it is just that iPhoto only see pictures on the card. I am used to programs that will show a icon specifying video, with foo.avi as the name. (foo = whatever you want)

    Seems odd that iPhoto doesn't see it, but Image Capture does (just based on the names I would think either they both would, or wouldn't).

    I hate inconsistency. :mad:
     

Share This Page