iPhoto too slow

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MacVault, Nov 2, 2003.

  1. MacVault macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #1
    Anyone else think iPhoto is too slow? It's still usable, but it just doesn't seem that snappy to me. I have about 700 pics in there and when I open iPhoto it just seems like it crunches away on the hard drive a little too much. Does it do this to generate or fetch the thumbnail pics or what?? Just seems to me like it should be more snappy, no matter how many photos are in the library. Any rumors of an iPhoto update soon???
     
  2. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    I think iPhoto is universally acknowledged to be slow. It's the newest iLife app so it isn't quite up to scratch yet. The delay on startup is due to it caching all your images so the more you have, the longer it will take.

    What Mac are you running it on? Apparently it's barely usable on slower G3s/G4s.

    Expect an update soon.

    (Edit to correct double negative)
     
  3. MacVault thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #3
    I'm running a 12" Powerbook 867Mhz, 640MB, 60GB, Superdrive. iPhoto seems slow even with no other programs running. Another bug seems to be when trying to manually flip with arrow keys through the photos when in slideshow mode rather than have them switch at a set interval, unless I'm missing something.

    Anyway, I'll wait for Apple to update it ;-)
     
  4. toughboy macrumors 6502a

    toughboy

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Izmir, Turkey
    #4
    For the first time, I'm using my fu.king PC for a serious solution and its because of iPhoto.. its slow on editing, its slow on importing, its slow on even viewing..

    yes, I know that its so slow because it loads all the images to run at the first time you open it, but I dont care.. using my Canon S50 and importing wonderful pics on my 12"PB was my dream, I bought it with 640mb of ram just because of this, but iPhoto works so slow, that I gave up sometime ago, and I'm using my WinXP PC to import and edit my pics. Even the Photo CDs I burn with iPhoto has no use in PCs.. is this compatibility with Windows which Apple talks about? Look at iTunes, its such a piece of art.. and look at iPhoto.. I'm expecting an emergent update release to iPhoto... This is what we all deserve...
     
  5. 3-22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    #5
    Re: iPhoto too slow

    Install lots of memory! Only when I went over a gig did it stop thrashing my hard drive. You can also use some of the tools out now to split up your iPhoto database for better performance.
     
  6. JohnStrass macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Miami, USA
    #6
    Re: iPhoto too slow

    Ohmigod.
    I bought my 17in iMac/800, loaded it with 1gig RAM, hoping to use iPhoto.
    It is embarrasingly slow. I cant even use it. Maybe they had in mind people using 30 photos at a time, but in the digital age, it is easy to have a few thousand there. The whole purpose of switchin g to digital was for me to catalog all of my photos.
    I was to d by my Apple store dude to buy a professional program (cant remember which one, but is was about $279) which I dont want to do. There is a rumor that the next rev will be faster, but now it is frankly unusable.
     
  7. toughboy macrumors 6502a

    toughboy

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Izmir, Turkey
    #7
    Re: Re: iPhoto too slow

    I installed the maximum capacity, and no way! 640MBs of ram is like a piece of cake to iPhoto..

    this version is crappy, lets face it.. but I believe on Apple, they will do the finest work and release a lovely iPhoto 3.0 to us!.. :)
     
  8. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #8
    I concur, it's horribly slow. I've only used it to arrange an iPhoto album, and that's about it.

    I use iView Media Pro instead. It's much quicker, and easier to control IMO. ;)
     
  9. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
    The issue is that iPhoto wants to load thumbnails for every single visible image in your library. When your total library size gets bigger than your available RAM you're stuck paging out to your hard drive and it all gets slow.

    One trick that speeds it up a little is to organize your photos by film roll and close all rolls. No thumbnails to load, less tax on your RAM.
     
  10. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #10
    i don't recall the iApps as being serious solutions for anything

    their fun to use, but i your doing "serious" work, your probably looking for a "serious solution"

    personally i hate using iPhoto because it organizes my pictures like it wants, not like i want
     
  11. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #11
    Isn't there a hack out there for multiple libraries? I hear that speeds it up, but haven't tried it personally. Try Version Tracker.
     
  12. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #12
    My Dual 1G and 768MB of RAM does thing reasonably well. For a complete solution it is not too bad.
    On the other hand when i start to edit the photos then it slows down. For example a simple rotate of a 3Mp image takes about 3-6 secs. Totally unacceptable really considering the simplicity of the task at hand.
     
  13. mactastic macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
    #13
    I gotta say, the whole organizing by rolls and turning up all the arrows really does the trick. Just means you can't see all your photos at once, but whatever. It's not a pro app after all. I'm sure Apple is working on it.

    Wonder how it runs on a G5 with a couple gigs of RAM....
     

Share This Page