iPhoto won't load photos

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Nermal, Aug 24, 2004.

  1. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    I reinstalled OS X a couple of weeks ago, and just now tried to start iPhoto (4.0.3) for the first time. iPhoto starts up then displays the message 'Loading photos,' and proceeds to just sit there - nothing else happens. I can still open the menus etc., but can't import my old photos back in or anything, it seems to be waiting for the initial load to finish before it'll do anything else. I've left it open for about 5 minutes and it still says it's trying to load photos. Any ideas?

    PS. I've tried deleting the iPhoto Library folder. iPhoto notices that it's missing and asks whether I want to create a new one. Upon answering yes it goes back to 'Loading photos' again :(
     
  2. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #2
    Could be normal. Yes, iPhoto is THAT slow! :p

    But hey, now's the perfect chance for you to try out some of the iPhoto alternatives posted in the other iPhoto threads. :)
     
  3. wPod macrumors 68000

    wPod

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #3
    how many photos and of what size? i know with large and numerous photos iphoto can take a long time to load the images.
     
  4. brevhead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    #4
    have you checked for an update of iphotos?

    could be something to do with that?
     
  5. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    No photos at all yet, I'm trying to get iPhoto to finish starting up so that I can import them.

    I believe that I have the latest version.
     
  6. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #6
    Try deleting the prefs? Or if all else fails, delete the app itself and reinstall it.

    And remember to get those System 7 Dell pics up :p
     
  7. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    I've deleted the prefs, which didn't work. Looks like I'll have to try reinstalling. And how could I forget those Dell pics? :)

    Actually, to be perfectly honest, I had forgotten :eek:
     
  8. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand

Share This Page