iPod 3.0

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jmsait19, Apr 30, 2004.

  1. jmsait19 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    MO
    #1
    Has anyone had trouble with iPod software 3.0. I installed it but it said something about v2.2 resisting it or something. Either way it didn't install. Is there a way to go back and try to reinstall it??
     
  2. g30ffr3y macrumors 6502a

    g30ffr3y

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    buffalo ny
    #2
    last night when i sank my ipod i got the message to update the ipod software... so i did... well i tried... it hung... it demolished my computer to the point where i had to hold the power button to turn it off...
    couldnt force quit... nada...

    once it came back up i got the message again... this time it worked
    fine... and im at version 2.2... previously i was at 2.1...

    me thinks there isnt a version 3.0
     
  3. jmsait19 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    MO
    #3
    just tried again...

    I went to the apple site and tried again. It updated fine, but apparently 2.2 is the most up to date, not 3.0. What is 3.0, why would the call it 3.0 if its not 3.0? Because you know it makes a world of difference.
     
  4. RBMaraman macrumors 65816

    RBMaraman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    Prospect, KY
    #4
    They never called it 3.0. This iPod update is called "iPod Update 4-28-2004". Apple never said it was or called it 3.0.
     
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    Apparently, there have been reports of other iPod users trying to install iPod Software 2.2 and having it refuse to install/be reported as iPod Software 3.0. Usually it only does it once - trying again makes it work as expected. I did not experience this issue, but I know there are other members of these forums who did - they were just as baffled. It's nothing more than an annoying bug in the iPod software updater.
     
  6. Washco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    #6
    Okay, I getting ticked now. Software update downloaded the iPod updater for me and so I mounted my iPod to update it. The updater starts up and asks me if I want to so I say yes and type my password. As soon as I hit 'okay', the iPod icon on my desktop disappears and an error message appears saying I have to mount the iPod on the desktop for it to work. No matter what I try, it always makes my iPod desktop icon disappear right after I type in my password and then I get the error message saying to mount the iPod. Any suggestions?
     
  7. dornball macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO.
  8. jmsait19 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    MO
    #8
    Check your log file, it was referred to as version 3.0
     

Share This Page