iPod as NAGRA

Discussion in 'iPod' started by anniesdomains, Jun 20, 2005.

  1. anniesdomains macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    here
    #1
    I was thinking about shooting something using my mini-DV camera and figured I may simply need to get another tape recorder like the NAGRA to record the audio track. But waitaminute, I have an iPod! And waitaminute! I have a BELKIN adapter which will enable me to use it to record audio.

    Is anyone else doing this? I think the sound recording is great. I'm thinking about getting the BELKIN adapter for external microphones to connect the ipod to a shotgun microphone. It seems like a logical way to get around buying a NAGRA or DAT recorder. Thx
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Good idea, bad implementation. The iPod is limited to a 8 KHz sample rate from external input. It's not Belkin's or Griffin's doing, it's Apple's.

    I was just reading about a hack for 3rd Gen. iPods that shoves out the Apple OS and installs Linux. The writer was experimenting with Linux recording software. Don't know if I can dig up the article but you may be able to Google it. It was off of one of the linux geek portals.

    Your better quality options are, unfortunately, more expensive. The Edirol R-1 looks good (records to compact flash at 24/96), the R-4 even better (records 4 tracks to hard drive). However, neither of them record timecode, so you would have to wild sync with your video.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  3. Cadence macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    there's cheap and good machines out there to record to cards WITH timecode. We rented a full kit with boom for about $50 over the weekend!
     
  4. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    There was an article on installing Linux on Macworld.com last week. It talked about recording sound in, and you can get CD quality recordings from external mics onto the iPod. Returning to the regular iPod interface was just a soft reboot away. This only works on 1st through 3rd generation iPods though. I've thought about doing it to my 2nd gen, but I really have no use.
     
  5. anniesdomains thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    here
    #5

    Hmmm, that's sad to hear. If you can find that article that'd be great. Thx
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    Brand and model? Link?
     
  7. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #7
    Are there any problem with the video and sound being off? How do match it up?
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    That's what the conversation about timecode is about. If you are recording video professionally, you use a SMPTE time code on the video, and you use an audio recorder that also records the SMPTE time code; then the audio and video tracks can be locked together.

    If you don't have timecode, you have to paste the audio tracks into the video editing software and align them to the action by "hand". This is successful for shorter takes, can be a problem on longer pieces as the timing of the two tracks drift apart.

    Generally, home/enthusiast equipment does not support timecode.
    More at
    http://www.philrees.co.uk/articles/timecode.htm
    http://www.equipmentemporium.com/Articles/audiosyncplayback.htm
    http://www.equipmentemporium.com/timecode.htm
    http://www.equipmentemporium.com/audiohi8.htm
     

Share This Page