iPod Camera Connector & Nikon D70

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Serious C, Jun 19, 2005.

  1. Serious C macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    #1
    Simply plug the iPod Camera Connector into the iPod dock connector, plug your camera's USB cable and watch your images make their way to the iPod, ready to view in a slide show! Compatible with all iPod photo models.

    That's what is told to me. But nothing happens. Do I have to click on something on my Nikon D70? I chose PTP as USB selection on my camera. But after plugging the USB, do I still have to do something else? Help! Thx.

    S
     
  2. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #2
    Turn on the camera, then you should see the option to Import on your iPod.
     
  3. Serious C thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    #3
    Still...

    Good thinking, but I already tried that... putting on the camera... but still nothing happens. With my Belkin camera connector I got 'PC' on the screen of my camera. Then I click on the Belkin connector and... yes... But here... I don't know. Thx.
     
  4. Dafke macrumors 6502

    Dafke

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    #4
    with my camera (canon powershot s50) it's very important to do it exactly the way it's described in the manual:

    -turn on iPod
    -connect connector
    -turn on camera
    -connect camera to connector

    when i connect it before turning the ipod or camera on, or i do something else wrong, the ipod won't recognise the camera. the iPod even freezed on me once.
     
  5. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #5
    I'll double check using my iPod and D70, but I've never had any problems with the setup at all. Sometimes the transfer will unexpectedly error, but I've only had that with my Kodak camera, and even then a simple reset of the iPod fixes everything... I'll report back...
     
  6. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #6
    Ok, heres what I did:

    1. Connect USB cable to D70
    2. Connect USB cable to iPod photo connector
    3. Connect photo connector to iPod (you get a "no card inserted" message on the iPod)
    4. Turn on D70

    Voila! It said 0 Pictures 0MB for me, since my card was empty, but you should of course see some pictures/data sizes.
     
  7. javabear90 macrumors 6502a

    javabear90

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    try changing it to M (mass storage) or ptp. (picture transfer protocol)
     
  8. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #8
    The "m" should work the best.
    Go to the "set up menu" scroll down until you get to USB and change it to "M". This makes it work better with Macs also.
    Use "ptp" when you want to use nikon capture.
    I really hope you get to know your $1000 camera. This is a basic issue that is covered in the manual. :)
     
  9. javiercr macrumors 6502

    javiercr

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #9
    when you connect the camera you should be able to find an import dialog navigating the ipod's menus , if it doens't work try connecting the d70 to the computer to see if the fault is there, if it works then the d70 is fine :) and the connector is broken :(
     
  10. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #10
    Both work fine with my iPod connector, so don't be so quick to call him dumb. If it fixes his problem, fine, but otherwise, I would say take both the D70 and your iPod into an Apple Store to see if they know any other tricks.

    As a side note, Nikon released new firmware for the D70 (Version 2.0), so you should update that when you can.
     

Share This Page