iPod Can't find me home Wifi network

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Zwhaler, Nov 25, 2007.

  1. macrumors demi-god

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #1
    For some reason, all of a sudden my iPod can't seem to find my Wifi network, even though it is less than 10 feet away from the router itself. It is hacked, but when I go to wifi, nothing comes up, and if I type in the info under "other" it says it can't find my network.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #2
    I know this sounds like a simple suggestion but I find it works for me at home sometimes, try pointing the touch's antena (the black bit on the back) towards your router see if that helps
     
  3. thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #3
    That does work, except only when a few feet from my router. Once I get even into a different room (10 feet away) it loses signal. Even when it is right next to the router, the signal strength before joining the network is 1 bar out of three. I'll contact apple I guess...
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Merkuryy

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    #4
    Sounds weird, I usually don't have any problems with Wi-Fi, even in school (Many laptop have problems with the network in my school, but my Touch handle it pretty well, I can even go to Macrumors:D)

    My suggestion is, first, make sure your router really work. And then make sure your Touch can really get into others network, and then we will see. When I first got a TP-Link at home, it took me pretty much time to get used to it
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
  6. thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #6
    It's an airport... I got a replacement recently maybe that has something to do with it.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #7
    Strange... for some reason my iPod seems to get full signal. Hopefully that won't happen again, it was kind of annoying
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    #8
    Ipod touch can't find networks

    I have been in three airports with WIFI in two countries and now my home network and my IPOD touch just keeps searching for a network, but never finds it. Did not have this problem two days ago... And it has worked perfectly from my home before. Anyone have an idea what's wrong?
     
  9. macrumors member

    Gleadr

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #9
    This happens to me a lot. It says my network then it says unable to connect. SO the only thing that i have found to get it working again is to turn off the router, and unplug the modem, then turn everything back on and once i do that the internet works fine :D
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #10
    cant find networks

    hi,suddendly my ipod touch cant find any network..not even mine!! its searching but cant find!! im trying everything (restore,reset network settings etc) but still nothing!! please somebody...
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #11
    Still can't connect with iPod Touch

    I am using a Airport Express router that has no issues. We have three Laptops (2 PCs and 1 Mac) and an iPhone that regularly connect (I'm using my Mac through the WIFI right now), however the iPod Touch can only randomly find the network. Sometimes it can't even find it when standing next to the router (we have tried this with several different networks with the same results. Does any one have any more ideas???

    Thanks in advance
    Greg
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    #12
    Try switching off the "Wi-Fi Networks" setting

    I've had all the symptoms this group is posting, and the only solution that
    seems to work is to do Settings -> Wi-Fi Networks -> Off and then back On.

    It seems to lose track of the automatic connection when I do a backup and
    synch, or update apps, or add music. Occasionally, I've even had to go back
    and re-enter the WPA password. I'm in my den, about 15 feet from the
    wireless router - the Settings on my Touch shows 2 bars, but when it gets
    connected, it shows full strength.

    At one point, I also removed this home network setting from the list, and
    re-entered everything. Seems a little more stable after that.

    Hope this helps . . .
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #13
    Has anyone been able to fix this prob?? I can't connect to my wifi at home but at work I can. Also I don't think that it's a prob with the modem cause I can log on to my wifi with my bfs Iphone. (which has no phone service at the moment).

    Anyone have any ideas?? Thanks
     
  14. macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #14
    Why don't you try following Apple's official advice of a) making sure your router is turned on and/or b) move closer to your router.

    Seriously, make a Genius appointment to get a replacement. Apple is not going to take this problem seriously until it begins to affect their bottom line. For a device that solely depends on WiFi for 95% of its functional abilities, the WiFi should work perfectly.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #15
    I tried resetting the modem....sat right next to it and it still don't work...I would take it to an apple store but I live on an island which doesn't have an apple store.
     
  16. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #16
    For a good number of the posters/readers on this site the nearest Apple Store is around 2-3 hours away. I do think that after you tried restoring it and setting it up as a new iPod and it still doesn't work. Call Apple Support and see what they say.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #17
    Fixed

    Okay, I had this problem because my dad set up a new router...for 25mB speed (virgin media rulez) ;)
    He set it so the capacity was too high for any of my mobile devices i.e. ipod and HTC Hero to even detect....
    so we set it down from 5gHz and now it's completetly fine!
    just fiddle around with the administrator settings for the network and you should be able to find it ;)
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #18
    This has happened to me a couple times.
    The problem has always been solved by simple turning the iPod off and on again.
    Remember, actually turn it off, don't just tap the power button. It takes a minute or two, but my wireless will usually pop right back up once it's restarted.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #19
    my ipod wont find any routers even when im standing right next mine and the bluetooth wont even work it has been like this for awile and it is realy starting to bug me as i have tried everything on most sites that i have been on
     
  20. michaelgmaloy, Apr 16, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    #20
    @ willpatt
    may be you should check your iPod wi-fi settings? or the capacity of the router you're trying to connect to.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    #21
    iOS software version? If not lastest, I'd start by updating it...
     
  22. Beach004, Apr 18, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    #22
    Home network, also

    I'm having exactly the same problem; after several months of no problem at all, logging automatically into my home network, suddenly this morning I can't connect; take the iTouch to work, and it connects automatically without a problem; come back home, no connection. I have rebooted the router; I have turned the iTouch off (at least, I guess that's what happens when I press the button on the top and the screen goes black). This is really odd, and frustrating.

    Never mind! I asked my techy daughter about this mystery; turns out while I was out of town for the weekend she dropped by and changed my home network to not broadcast its name. Be nice if she had told ME...
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    #23
    My iPod was stolen and I went onto iCloud to try to search for it. The iPod says it's offline and can't be located...what do I do now? :confused:
     
  24. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #24
    Buy a new iPod...
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    yeah

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #25
    Maybe you should try resetting the network settings (Settings>General>Reset>Reset Network Settings)

    Or erase your iPod and take it in to the Apple Store :)
     

Share This Page