iPod charger question:

Discussion in 'iPod' started by munckee, Mar 19, 2006.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #1
    I bought one of the square ipod chargers from apple (the kind that looks like a mini version of the laptop power bricks). It comes with the adapter to plug the brick itself into the wall. Would it be ok to switch that for the longer cord that comes with my ibook? (pull the plug adapter off the power brick and replace it with the cord adapter)
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    I'm not sure that it would even fit. The brick for the iPods is much smaller than the ones for the iBook and Powerbook. And if you did manage to fit it in, I don't think it would be a good idea to use it.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #3
    Apparently it doesn't, not because of a size issue, but the plugs on the unit are a slightly different shape. Guess this is a moot point. Thanks.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    macOSX-tastic

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    At the Airport. UK
    #4
    i think it's unwise to use the powerbrick with anything other than the supplied goods......theere may be compatibility issues, and when you're playing around with power the risks definitely are greater than the benefits.


    S
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #5
    ive put a cable into my iPod block, with no damage. As far as i know, all the plug heads and cables are of the same size. See if it fits (which it should), then plug it in. It should work alright.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #6
    Using the longer cord that came with an Apple laptop is no problem, the connectors are the same size. I couldn't really believe it myself when I tried it myself... the smaller size of the iPod charger is deceiving.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #7
    Ok, how the heck are you guys getting this to work? My plugs were different shapes (the sorta "8" looking part that inserts first into the powerbrick) :confused:

    Guess I'll have to go home and look at my older ones. I have three powerbricks with cords (one brick doesn't work, but I figure the cord should still). Maybe with some shuffling and I make this whole thing happen.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #8
    ah yes, i forgot. The old blocks have the "8" plug, the new ones have a "B" plug. The "8" fits into the "B", but not the other way around.
     

Share This Page