iPod Classic Corrupt (wont restore)

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Mat246, Feb 11, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    My iPod Classic 6 gen 80gb is corrupt according to iTunes and needs restoring, but whenever i restore it says the same thing. Ive tried erasing with disk utility then restoring but it doesn't help. Anyone got any advice to get it working?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    It could be a sign of the hard drive failing.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Location:
    UK
  4. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #4
    Actually yes it can be fixed. If you have an IBM PC, get the software called Spinrite along with a CF/IDE adapter and open the iPod and get the HDD out. Connect it with the adapter to a PC and run Spinrite on it. There is a testimonial on GRC.com about this being a success.

    Spinrite is typically run on normal computer HDD's, but can just as easily fix an iPod HDD.

    I use Spinrite all the time to fix HDD's and maintain them.

    Below is my old MBP HDD in a Dell PC with Spinrite working on it.

    Independent review of Spinrite (not me)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

     
  5. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #5
    I think those iPods have 1.8" HDDs and I don't think it a standard connector.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I don't have an IBM computer unfortunately, the iPod boots fine and i can scroll menus etc but then iTunes says its corrupted so i suppose theres not much i can do.
     
  7. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #7
    Do you have a friend or family member who'd let you borrow their PC?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I think i know someone who has a thinkpad actually, would this work with an iPod?
     
  9. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #9
    Probably, if you're comfortable enough with dismantling the laptop. I'd recommend a regular desktop PC to do it though.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I think il just sell it, thanks for the help though.
     

Share This Page