iPod Constantly Rebooting

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by crees!, Aug 22, 2004.

  1. macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #1
    So my 3G iPod has just gone into should I say an infinite loop of rebooting itself. It never gets past the startup Apple logo then it shuts down and reboots again. Any way to stop this?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #2
    Reset it, maybe. Menu-Play/Pause? This will probably kill all data on the drive, so make sure you've backed-up (does it even work plugged into the computer?)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #3
    Okay I've put this thing in its dock. Took it out. Put it back. Nothing, but just now it says "Disk Mode. Okay to Disconnect" with a big 'ol check mark on screen. I've never seen this before and none of the controls work. Back to the dock I guess??
     
  4. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #4
    Check out Apple's support section and go through all relevant iPod articles to your situation.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #5
    I just put it back in the dock. It switched to the "Do Not Disconnect" readout. My iPod has been taking a long time lately to mount and dismount. Still not mounted. I think I'm going to shut down so I can disconnect. I'll post later tonight I guess as I'm heading out now.. thanks for the quick response.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #6
    Open Disk Utility and see if it 'sees' the iPod when it is plugged in yet not mounted.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #7
    Disk Utility doesn't see it. It just says "Disk Mode - Okay to disconnect" with a big check mark. Before I left it said Do Not Disconnect so apparently it switched over sometime. I'll take a look at the forum. None of the controls work when I press them either.
     

Share This Page