IPOD CORRUPT! but with a twist!

Discussion in 'iPod' started by EEiX, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #1
    Hey!

    So my story is the same as most. I have a two or three year old 30 gig black iPod. It's my baby. I had to get a song for my ensemble in college, and as i'm plugging my iPod into my iTunes to sync it, it says it's corrupt.

    I have NOT tried to plug it into someone else's computer, but I tried the menu+center button. That led me to my predicament. It started the reboot screen just fine, but just before it would go to the main screen, it goes back to the beginning. I can't stop it, it just restarts over and over and over.

    How do I fix this? AND, would the mac store replace it? ((not a bad thing to ask right?))

    thanks
    -Eric
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    West Sussex, England, UK
    #2
    A store would not replace it, it is way out of warranty, sorry. Best just to leave it to do that until it runs out of power, then try it again after some charging, who knows it could have done it already. I can't really think of another way, but that doesn't mean there isn't one. sorry i could be more help
     
  3. macrumors regular

    inigel

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    My old 5G iPod did that after I installed iPodLinux on it. Lucky for me, it was still under warranty and Apple replaced it no questions asked.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #4
    try center button+play button. That will(should) put you into disk mode. Then try a restore.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    new york
    #5
    you could also try to check with disk utility once its in disk mode to see if thats an option to restore
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #6
    Fixed!

    Hey all, I fixed it all when it was restarting that apple screen over and over and over, and then i did play button+center button and then restored it.

    Scary moment. Thanks guys!

    -Eric
     

Share This Page