ipod crashes

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hui__lim, Mar 15, 2003.

  1. hui__lim macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    #1
    Recently, my iPod seems to be crashing. I know it is strange, but has anyone had a similar problem? I have tried pressing all the buttons (including holding down pause to turn it off) but nothing happens. Hence I have to leave the iPod for a few hours to drain the battery.
    Anyone know why is this?
    Thanks
     
  2. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #2
    Have you tried plugging in your iPod to your computer to see if that works?

    When you say you pressed all buttons, have you also tried pushing every button on the iPod down for about 10 seconds for a "code red" emergency restart? Make sure your battery has had a charge for then.

    Also, if you do not have the lastest version of the iPod software, obtain it.

    If this has been consistantly happening, even with these recommendations/suggestions, try restoring your iPod. In other words, grab your iPod Software updater and completely wipe out the iPod (charge it for at least 30 minutes first).

    If the problem consistantly occurs, you have a hardware issue. If you purchased the iPod recently, you should be able to have it checked out for free.
     
  3. hui__lim thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    #3
    Yes I have tried plugging my iPod to the computer to see whether it works. However, nothing happens. Just one more thing, how do you perform a "code red" emergency start? Is this done by holding down the pause button for 10seconds? If so, I have tried this and nothing happens. The version of software I have is 1.2.2 However, one thing that really confuses me is that when i go to apple's iPod website, it states that the latest update for the Ipod is only 1.2.1 So how am I able to have 1.2.2 FYI, my Ipod is 20GB Mac version and I bought it from the UK about 6 months ago.
    Thx for the help...
     
  4. aethier macrumors 6502a

    aethier

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #4
    The proper way of doing a "code red" is to have it plugged into a outlet and hold down "menue" and "play/puase" then it will restart it self, you may see a folder with a "?" but it will go away

    aethier
     
  5. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Actually.. code red is Play/Pause, Centre Circle (ok) and the Menu.
     
  6. bennetsaysargh macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    1.2.2

    1.2.2 was released in eurpe i think because of a law requiring a certain decible amount to be the maximum. that (at least im pretty sure) is the only difference.
     
  7. hui__lim thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
  8. aethier macrumors 6502a

    aethier

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #8
    oh ok.. thank you i will try that if ever it happens again, it worked for me when i did it the other so yeah...

    aethier
     

Share This Page