iPod for Windows question

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Foxer, May 2, 2004.

  1. Foxer macrumors 65816

    Foxer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    Hey all. My father wants to buy an iPod, but his elderly Gateway doesn't have firewire or usb 2. Will an iPod work with USB 1 on a windows machine or will he have to break down and buy a firewire card as well? Any one have experience with this?

    Man, it would all be so much simpler if I could jsut get him to buy a Mac. :)
     
  2. takao macrumors 68040

    takao

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Dornbirn (Austria)
    #2
    normaly a usb2 device will work on a usb1 connection ..but only with usb1 speed
    i think it's the same with the ipod
     
  3. Foxer thread starter macrumors 65816

    Foxer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    That's my understanding, too. I just wondered if there was something special about an iPod since the tech specs specify USB 2.
     
  4. Calvinatir macrumors 6502

    Calvinatir

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    LA
    #4
    it specifies 2.0 so that you dont die of impatience...my friend got a 40 GB iPOd and found out he only has 1.1 on his laptop..it took him over 6 hours to transfer all 25GB of his music! It was painful
     
  5. Foxer thread starter macrumors 65816

    Foxer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC

Share This Page