iPod - Have you seen this before?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by edesignuk, Sep 22, 2002.

  1. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    I just plugged in my iPod and did not seem to be detected, when I looked at the display of the iPod it had a display like this (see below), do you know what it is?
    It looks like a kinda fsck/defrag/scandisk/chkdsk thing for the iPods HDD, eventually when the progress bar reached the end it left the Disc on the screen with a little tick next to it.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #2
    Have you ever used the iPod as a Hard Drive before? In iTunes, do you have your iPod set to be updated upon plugging it to the computer? Have you recently dropped/damaged the iPod? If you have the latest version of Norton, did you run any utilities on it to see if there are problems with the Hard Drive?

    No guarentee that this will help...and, no, I haven't seen it before. :)
     
  3. teabgs macrumors 68030

    teabgs

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    behind you
    #3
    I've seen it but never let it go all the way to the end cause it takes FOREVER....I just restart the thing.....good idea....:confused:
     
  4. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    It's ok KC, there's no probelm, I just wondered what it was, after I unplugged and reconnected once it had got to the point of having a tick next to the disk it was all back to normal.
    And no, I've NEVER used it as a FireWire HDD, or run disk utilities on it.
     
  5. zarathustra macrumors 6502a

    zarathustra

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #5
    This is the HDD Scan mode, as suggested by someone. You can execute it from the Diagnostic Mode, which you can get to by restarting the iPod, and then holding back, select, forward. Here you can test the grpahics, remote, HD, etc.

    I don't know why it has initiated itself though. Maybe the firmware detected problems on the HD and tried to repair itself...???
     
  6. G5orbust macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #6
    if that happend to my ipod, id be freaked out beyond all reason. Just like i was when it wouldnt turn on after i accidnetally shook it. Luckly the batery had just run out because of that damn clock taht kills battery.
     
  7. davidc2182 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Location:
    Sin City
    #7
    that is an awesome mode

    hey is it true that the battery life is killed by the clock cuz my battery life has gone from 10 hours to 6.5 and apple says its a software conflict and i need to reinstall all the software on the pod, but i dont have a mac to do it on, so is it just the clock?
     
  8. davidc2182 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Location:
    Sin City
    #8
    holy crap

    i just tested the sleep mode and the stupid thing showed a low batt signal and now it wont reset or wakeup and it was a full charge!
     
  9. thornycroft macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Location:
    new zealand
  10. thornycroft macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Location:
    new zealand
    #10
    i think its just your computer. it hasnt happened with mine
    :)
     
  11. G5orbust macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #11
    dude if u wnna get more posts, u have to consolidate the two posts u just made into one next time! It will save server space and will make ur post gcount go faster cuz u dont hvae to do double the work per post...
     
  12. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #12
    Easy, orbust. You're turning into me with flaming newbies. Bad idea. :)

    When I had the clock function enable the iPod didn't last a whole F'n week, even when "off". So I don't use it.
     
  13. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #13
    A bit off topic, but has anyone else been having a problem with their iPod getting to 2 bars of battery life and then saying that no power remains? It doesn't go to one bar, just to the warning and dies. This only began after the 1.2 update.:confused:
     
  14. davidc2182 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Location:
    Sin City
    #14
    hey

    how do i disable my clock cuz it eats up battery power like a mofo
     
  15. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #15
    To keep the clock off and better battery life, a guarenteed way of doing it would be to let the battery drain completely, recharge the iPod, and don't f*** with the clock again. :p
     
  16. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #16
    Sometimes I leave the iPod plugged into the wall when I go to sleep and after its fully charged, it has that ÒchargedÒ signal...it then ceases to charge like it should do but does that signal reduce power? because as I use it the next day, sometimes the last bar of power is already gone and sometimes gets drained very fast...
     

Share This Page