iPod headphone input problem

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by mcrain, Dec 13, 2002.

  1. mcrain macrumors 68000

    mcrain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    I have a new 20 gig iPod with remote. From when I first got it, the remote didn't like to go in all the way (there is supposed to be a second click). Anyway, this morning, I went to put it in, and the little plastic round part in the hole crumpled.

    Has anyone else had this happen to them, and does anyone know apple's policy regarding fixing things like that?

    Thanks
     
  2. BenderBot1138 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    #2
    Yours is a rare problem...

    ... which doesn't mean that Apple won't fix it. Unlike other manufactures of computer products, Apple stands by what it makes, and will replace any thing they sell that isn't up to their high standards.

    If you have an iPod that hasn't met Apple's manufacturing and production specifications, call Apple and they'll make it right.

    :cool:
     
  3. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #3
    i don't have the remote.... that is to say, it didn't come with my ipod.

    however, i have since "borrowed" my girlfriend's ipod remote, and i tried using it.... it's nearly impossible to use because, the input hole has a little bit of it broken off... so i think it's not getting a perfect fit or something.... it takes some working to get it in properly

    however, mine isn't under warranty, while yours is.

    worth a shot.... don't want to spend 5 spot on it and then have it crack right away....

    only problem i see is that i doubt they'd be able to "repair" it per se... as opposed to replacing it. which would be a bigger pain for both you and apple of course. but again, worth a shot.
     
  4. mcrain thread starter macrumors 68000

    mcrain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    I called apple, and they are sending me a box to send it in.

    My biggest fear with replacing it is that since I got it and fell in love with it, I've already ripped about half my cd collection, and have over a 1000 songs on it. I heard somewhere that iTunes won't let me put those same songs on another iPod. Ripping those cd's is something I don't want to have to do twice.

    I'll let you know what apple does. Hopefully all will be ok.
     
  5. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #5
    you can put those same songs on another ipod, without a problem. and i assume you still have them on your computer? rather than ripping, moving to ipod, then dumping... right?

    good luck.
     
  6. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #6
    iTunes won't but some third party apps will.

    Make a playlist, select all your music and drop it in. Select the playlist, then use this to copy the music (the playlist) to a HDD. iPod Playlist cloner makes a script menu in iTunes, for easy copying.

    I've had several iPod troubles, and every time my iPod came back blank, so back it up.

    good luck
     
  7. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #7
    i've put songs on more than one ipod.

    with itunes.....
     
  8. mcrain thread starter macrumors 68000

    mcrain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Location:
    Illinois
    #8
    Well, if it comes back blank, I'm sure I'll be sure to try those things.

    Thanks. I'll let you know what happens.
     
  9. ryme4reson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    Cupertino CA
    #9
    VERSION TRACKER --> Get xPod. With this little program you can easily upload/download songs to iTunes from mulitple iPOds, and visa versa.
    REMEMBER DONT STEAL!!! but if you need to use two macs with one iPod, then it makes perfect sense.
     
  10. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #10
    i haven't found xpod to be convenient at all

    you have to go through and select song at a time.... by song name... at least the version i have... it's not convenient at all unless you're doing alll the songs at once.
     
  11. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #11
    I don't think there should be any problem... If there is, I am sure its correctable somehow.
     
  12. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #12
    Only good in theory with intellectual property, but falls apart in reality. Everyone does it at one point, unless you have a really good source of income.

    thanks for the reminder
     

Share This Page