iPod help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by brepublican, Jan 11, 2006.

  1. brepublican macrumors 6502a

    brepublican

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Hey guys, I just did software update on my PB today. I installed the new QT, iPod update and 10.4.4 (but I'm still with iTunes 4.9). I've been having some problems with Finder...

    But anyway, the real probem is that when I hook up my iPod, I get a notification that there is new software for it, but it wont update, it says that only Mac formatted iPods can update. I formatted my iPod for my PC (which is my primary iTunes library). So my iPod isnt showing up in iTunes and the only other option its giving me is to restore it to factory settings... Has anyone had this problem and is there any advice?

    Thanks
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Cancel the update and it should still sync with the Mac, mine does. FWIW you cannot update a Windows-formatted iPod on a Mac and vice-versa, you can only do a full restore.

    What are the problems with Finder? :)
     
  3. brepublican thread starter macrumors 6502a

    brepublican

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    Finder is now 10.4.4 but its slowed down noticeably. It kinda keeps hanging, but its been doing that a lot this week ever since I started using my old 256 cruzer mini with my PB... Also, cmd + R isn't doing anything anymore in iTunes. Could be iTunes, but I think its Finder.
     
  4. brepublican thread starter macrumors 6502a

    brepublican

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    Oh, and how do I cancel the update and possibly update my iPod via PC?
     
  5. brepublican thread starter macrumors 6502a

    brepublican

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    NY
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    For Finder, try repairing permissions in Disk Utility as a start although it's doubtful that'll help. Next up, open up Activity Monitor (in the Utilities folder alongside Disk Utility) and see if there's a process using up lots of CPU or RAM. Also, tell us your page outs (from Activity Monitor) plus how long it's been since a reboot. :)
     

Share This Page