iPod Hi-Fi

Discussion in 'iPod' started by mark!, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. macrumors 65816

    mark!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    America
    #1
    I am thinking of getting an iPod Hi-Fi, but I want it to connect to my airport express & my TV...I made a graph to make it less confusing...it might take it a while to load though.

    TV>RCA to headphone jack connector>iPod hifi (well actually the splitter...)
    eMac>airport express (via) ethernet
    printer>airport express
    airtport express>iPod hifi (the splitter, actually, again.)

    Does that make sense...? It is all very confusing...but the graph should make it understandable...well...heres the link to the graph...thanks in advance :)

    http://imagecloset.com/8/03280525-setup.jpg
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Yeah i would say that would work out, nice set-up!!!

    Nice graph, haha i love a good graph.

    Rich.

     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    mark!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    America
    #3
    Thanks! I just didn't think that the splitter part would work.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Wait, are you USB'ing the audio from Airport Express to eMac?

    Rich.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Should do, unless the Hi-Fi prevents splitting ? But i shouldn't think it would.

    Rich.

     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    mark!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    America
    #6
    Nope, the printer goes to the USB in the airport express, i am ethernetting the eMac to the Airport express, so streaming stuff from the eMac to the airport express to the iPod hi-fi should work great, correct?
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #7
    Yeah, the setup looks fine. I'll be interested in hearing how well it works. My only complaint with the Hi-Fi was having only one input, but if a splitter works, that solves that problem.

    (Well, I have a second complaint too--the price--but there's nothing that can be done about that for the moment.)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    mark!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    America
    #8
    It is gonna be fun setting all of this up :D

    But I was thinking...you know those RCA switcher thingys?
    like this but not ghetto....
    [​IMG]

    Well...I was thinking for the RCA in, I would get one of these...
    [​IMG]
    & then having the Hi-Fi to the RCA splitter switch thingy...
    Then, I would plug in the RCA to Headphone converter into the RCA switcher that is connected to the airport express....
    & then I would do the same with the TV....I think that this would actually work! That would be cool to be like 'hmm...let's watch TV & have sound with the ipod hi-fi' & then just switch the thing....and whne i wanna wirelessly stream music & stuff i can just switch the switch again!
     
  9. macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #9
    I have a monster cable splitter hooked up with my Hi-Fi for Satellite output and AirPort Express output. It works fine.
     

Share This Page